Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here are a few pics of my 07 Front Rotors after running a set of Galfer Gold Pads.

These pics are after about 50 miles on a set of new factory pads. As you can see the Galfer pads did not make full contact with the rotors and badly groved the rotors. I was very suprised with the poor performance of the Galfer Pads.

This brings me to my Question: Before I buy a set of new rortors,,, does anyone know if the Galfer Rotors wear any better with the Galfer Pads? or,, Are the Galfer pads that much harder that they just wear through rotors quickly??

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
no pads should be wearing through rotors. if they are i would suggest trying new pads. i have no experience with galfer pad, i luv my vesrahs though.

are you sure the color isnt glazed onto the surface of the rotor??

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
I noticed that the EBC HH pads put a lot more heat into the rotor(proportional to the better stopping power) as compared to the oem pads. I have heard from a few guys that the high end galfer pads wear the rotors faster, but that is the trade off if you want better brakes.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
no pads should be wearing through rotors. if they are i would suggest trying new pads. i have no experience with galfer pad, i luv my vesrahs though.

are you sure the color isnt glazed onto the surface of the rotor??
The color you see is surface rust where the current pads are not making contact.

I may switch to Galfer silver or black pads,, but I would sure hate to get another set of rotors and have the same thing happen. A set of tires and brake pads every 6 months I expect --- rotors too ,,would suck

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
oncycle.com has Alth full float front rotor sets for $172.00 w/free shipping. I bought the smooth cuts...they are just as good as Brembo.