Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i am about to do my front forks and was told that there is a certain type of fork oil for my weight. I am about 210 all geared up. Any help or preference with any of you guys out there?

·
Registered
236 Posts
So i am about to do my front forks and was told that there is a certain type of fork oil for my weight. I am about 210 all geared up. Any help or preference with any of you guys out there?
I went to a 7.5 weight oil and I am about 220lbs with gear on.. Danny Turner (father of Kris Turner ama pro daytona sportbike) recommended maybe going to a 10 weight if the 7.5 didn't feel right..

·
Registered
236 Posts
Wheelies/Stoppies or Track-Style riding?? If you feel your front end is too spongy, then try a 15 wt... I went with the 7.5 cause my front felt too stiff and my chassi didnt feel settled prior to cornering.. But then I'm no mechanic either..

·
Registered
236 Posts
Hahahaha, we can't all look like Hopkins.. Freakin guy is like 5'2" and 120 lbs soaking wet.. I met him in the pits at Barber and he made me feel like a lard-ass..

·
Registered
236 Posts
Im 6'5 too so its at least somewhat proportioned but 5'2 120?!?!? Dang! Thats one little dude!!! Fast little bugger though!!
Not sure if thats really his size.. But he definitely is a little dude.. And you couldn't be more right about fast.. Check out The Jokers run with him at Daytona.. And I hear The Jokers pretty quick himself..

http://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=85623&highlight=hopkins

But on the fork oil, did the 15 wt work for you or did you redo your springs??

·
Registered
145 Posts
appreciate the input guys, i think ill go with some 10 weight.