Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, got my first track day coming up at Jennings GP on the 28th, as a Track day Virgin, I was wounder if anyone here would like to give me any advice. Maybe to riding advice per say, that'll come later, but generic things to expect at the track, good things to bring with to the track, etc etc... Thanks guys, im pretty pumped for this!

·
Registered
399 Posts
I will be there on Friday, Feb 20th for their semi-private day as my first track day!
You must be as excited as I am!
I've been riding for 20+ years and this will be my first track day!

·
Is still Slo
1,538 Posts
Theres a slew of things you should bring, heres just a few.... But most stuff if you don't have, others will let you borrow it.

-Tire gauge
-Sunblock!!!!
-Painters tape
-water and food (good to hydrate at least 2 days before)
-extra fuel
-shade......canopy and chair is a life saver out there.....
-and ...a good attitude, be a sponge out there, take all information from others in and apply/practice it.
-Don't get impatient and try to be all wild and fast. Learn the lines, get smooth with transitioning from turn to turn, braking and accelerating.

Let us know how it goes...... Good to have someone with a camcorder/camera so you can see how you really were doing, not how you thought you were doing. Most people are surprised they don't look like Rossi their first time out. ;)

·
Is still Slo
1,538 Posts
Oh yeah....couple things. If you see a crash, don't stop... Keep going and if needed, pull off the track in the pit area.

Also, don't get out of anyones way, let them find a safe way around you if they want to pass. If it's a 600, you can be courteous and not blast down the front straight so that he/she can pass.....

·
Registered
794 Posts