Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
2,653 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rode my bike into work, everything good...about an hour later, fire it up, idle for about 10 seconds, heard a very audible pop, and a cloud of white smoke...killed biked immediately, removed plastics, and had oil above the headers on the clutch side...what is it?...I've never had to do motor work or had problems, so this is new territory for me...I'm no expert, but an initial assumption would be a head gasket...I'll post pics in a few minutes...

·
REPOST Enforcement Mod
13,798 Posts
Yeah, oil above the headers would normally be the valve cover, but a pop and white smoke out the exhaust is coolant getting passed the head gasket into the combustion chamber. But I guess I assumed it was out of the exhaust since re-reading the original post doesn't really state that. If the valve cover was leaking and putting oil out onto the hot headers....white smoke.

The "pop" is what's concerning. I'll wait to see some pics and more info before speculating any farther.

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
okay so i just got off the phone with mark. sounds like a valve cover leak but like mentioned the pop is whats got me worried. he said the smoke looked like it was above the number 4 cylinder.

i had him fire the bike back up for a few seconds while i was on the phone and it fired back up and seemed to run ok for the 15 seconds or so that he had it running.

so lets brainstorm and help a brother out. i had him look at the valve cover for any bad spots and he didnt see any and when he fired the bike back up he didnt see any crazy leaks. what could have popped like that.

i am about to head to work then leave to michigan for the weekend so i wont have a chance to look at it in person but when i get back you are welcome to bring it over mark

·
REPOST Enforcement Mod
13,798 Posts