Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello; I have several of the 04 - 07 stock intake cams modified so that you can run them on the exhaust side. They are 150 exchange including return shipping. I have been building kawasaki engines for 25 years and I am building my 04 engine right now for big top end HP normally aspirated. I will have bigger airbox, larger throttle bodies, ported cylinder head, factory early version race intake cam, higher compression, 1000 rpm higher rev limiter, and full Akro exhaust. I obviously will be moving a lot more air through the engine on the intake side, so I wanted to improve the exhaust side by modifying the intake cam to run on the exhaust side. I also have a friend that wanted to do that on his 05 NOS 10. I had a racing friend of mine who is a lifetime machinist build a custom fixture with a large degree wheel so that we could modify the cams exactly and duplicate it from cam to cam. The first cam is allready installed in my friends NOS bike and he is very happy with the results as he picked up several MPh at the track with no other changes. He has no dyno numbers as he does not dyno his bikes. He goes off what they do at the track. My cam is finished, but my build will not be completed and tuned until about march, so I can not post any numbers until then. I know that other people have done this mod in the past, and I know some people were thinking about doing it, so I figured since we had the fixture to do it precisely I would offer it up here. I am not making any money on this. Honest. The money goes to my friend who does the mod for his time and materials. Is this mod for everybody, No. For people with heavily modified motors I think it helps. For Turbo and NOS motors it should definately help as they need all the help they can get to get the extra exhaust out of the motor. I believe the guy on here with the turbo 10 who has ran 246 mph at Maxton has this done, so it seem