Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, turn the bike on.. put the kick stand down.. get off the bike.. hold on to the throttle and put your ear next to the engine block.. now rev the engine a bit.. do you hear any engine noise.. like a chain rattling kinda.. it's not loud.. but it's there..

I'm new to bikes.. this could be just normal.. let me know

·
MIA Post Whore
8,727 Posts
Just take your ear away from the engine. Ride. ...you're probably just hearing the cam chain. They will become a bit noisy just b4 they adjust to the next "click". That's assuming the set up is the same as in other, older Kawi motors...

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Big Daddy said:
and if ya turn the key to the 'off' position you won't hear nuffin. :thumbsup:

BD

that fixed it.. thanks.. no more noise.. i lost the power though

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
jeech said:
ear on the engine block.. is that like sticking your tongue on cold lamp post? I'm not gonna do it...

no dude.. do it.. ya won't hurt your ear.. I promise.. I wanna know if anyone else hears that noise

·
Hillbillie Mod
20,155 Posts
10inja said:
no dude.. do it.. ya won't hurt your ear.. I promise.. I wanna know if anyone else hears that noise
DUde its on all THE 10s theyre just razzin ya. Don't sweat it and do a search you will find many others with the same ideas as yourself.

No worrys though mate!

·
Supercharged Mod
4,391 Posts
... tick, tick, tick, tick, tick, KA-BOOM!!!

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Austin10RPowers said:
Take the 04/05 R1 and stand on the seat while idling with your helmet on and you can hear it ticking...tick, tick...
dayam... a little tick on my SL Benz means some serious shit.. but again the 10R is a little different

·
Registered
292 Posts
10inja said:
dayam... a little tick on my SL Benz means some serious shit.. but again the 10R is a little different