Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 zx10, lowered 2" extended 7" single two broz, +3 sprocket in the rear, 530 chain, GIPRO ATRE, shinko stealth. im new to the drag strip and would like to know what is a good rpm to launch from the line at? i have ran before with the bike completely stock but i was scared to launch since it kept wanting to pick up lol. thanks for the info guys.

·
Certified SLOW
3,131 Posts
Really depends, on different factors. I launched SWB at 7k and with it long launch at 9k.

Start low and work your way up to find what works best for you...

·
Registered
3,837 Posts
+1 on launching at lower rpms till you get used to the clutch and bike then you can raise them rpms some. im swb and i launch at 8-8500k rpms she comes up but i use the clutch to keep her tame lol...

·
Registered
779 Posts
I've been leaving between 8k and 9k here lately still getting used to new gearing. As said before leave low and go up, I used to start at 6k and work up. Your only lowered 2" seems kinda up there still, get a strap and your can go 1 to 1.5 lower and up strap if you street ride.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yea tonight was my second time running ever, and my first time with the extention. i havent lowered the forks yet but my best time of the night was 7.173 @ 111.89 and .123 R/T didnt get a 60ft time. but im still happy last time i wasnt even in the 7's and im still getting used to burning the tire at the track i only do it for maybe 3 seconds then roll off.

·
Registered
779 Posts
I drop a tooth on the front sprocket should pick you up more than the BMC, but every little bit counts. Hows that stealth hooking up? Lower your air pressure if you haven't already. Remember to slide the clutch don't dump it, and you should be rolling on the gas while releasing the clutch. It takes practice :eek:ccasion1

·
Registered
795 Posts