Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys I am looking to get a notebook for school. I want to get a dell and I also get a discount from my college with them. I haven't bought a computer in roughly 5 years so some of you guys can help me out. I am looking for something thats fast, big screen, possibly 17", and a lot of memory. I will be mostly using it for papers, ms office, and editing movies that I make on my bike. I am a mechanical designer so I will probally be using autocad or inventor on this thing also. I am looking to try to stay around $1500. Can some of you give me your ideas on what to get and what not to get? Thanks

·
Hillbillie Mod
20,155 Posts
get AMD ya ninny.

and how much money will you save if you buy a dell?

·
MIA Post Whore
8,727 Posts
I've been supporting Dell products for 8 years. I'm a fan. I think you are going to find that every techy guy on the board is going to hit you with their personal preferences. Check as many of your options as possible. Spring for a three year at home warrantee. Three to five years and the technology is out of date unless you are the average user (email, word processing and surfing). If you need the pc for school you don't want to be shipping it out. Get a gig of RAM (more if thinking of going to Vista in the future) and the best video card and processor you can. ...oh damn... i just doubled your budget!! Check Dell's refurbished laptops. Same warrantee as new and sometimes deals can be had. I'd check all the other major suppliers too to compare components, prices, and warrantees.

·
Still here
9,059 Posts

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
there are so many choices, if yamaha made a laptop it would be an easier choice

·
Rent this space
6,590 Posts