Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I'm new to the US (Southern California)...

Most traffic lights over here appear to have inductive loops in the ground to sense vehicles, many in England do too!

However I've not had a great success rate at triggering these on my ZX-10R! In England I never had a problem!

Am I doing something wrong, or does everyone else just wait a while then proceed carefully through a red light after they haven't changed?

:dontknow:

I just make sure there is no police behind me, I'm waiting for the day thee is an unmarked police car around!

What do others do? Plan their journey only making right hand turns at red lights? (California)

Rob

·
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
6,813 Posts
Look up a product called "Red light buddy", it will trigger the lights for you.

·
BigCat for Prez!
7,229 Posts
Lol I have the same problem but I've found they sense u better if u rev the motor a lil bit like kinda chopping it to abt 3k and back down a couple times.

I've been skipped quite a few times before at some redlights and ill get pissed and go through them

·
REPOST Enforcement Mod
13,810 Posts
Best bet is to stop the bike over one of the wires. It's usually a rectangle that you can clearly see in the asphalt. If you stop directly over one of the sides of this rectangle, you should have better luck. Also try pulling up past the stop bar slightly so that any traffic behind you can get closer to the sensor to help trigger it.

The red light buddy mentioned is nothing more than a powerful magnet you strap to the bottom of the bike to help trigger it. Reviews on whether or not they work as advertised are mixed.