Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I've been reading these forum for weeks now as a result of getting a 2008 zx10r and really enjoying them. Today I was trying to set sag on the front and I just can get it past 19mm. I've set rebound to nil.

I've got 26mm on the rear without any difficulty

I'm around 180 ibs in full gear with stock suspension. I'm reading on the forum of guys with 38mm of sag on the front which is miles away from where I am.

Any suggestions would be really appreciated :smile:

·
Registered
951 Posts
I'm no pro, but I remember the Gen 3 front suspension is pretty stiff and you may need to get lighter Springs. My buddy is 160-165 geared and I know he is gonna have to because he can't achieve proper sag numbers with his Gen 3.

·
Registered
771 Posts
I'm 220 in gear and have my springs way out to get proper sag you'll likely need softer springs

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies - I've taken all the preload out to see if I can get a bit more sag but I'm stuck around 19mm.:headshake:

I was thinking softer springs alright but I'm trying to keep costs down.

·
Registered
837 Posts
Best you can do without spending money is a compromise, but

1) Kyb forks have a lot of stiction. Check free movement up and down by loosening off and re-tightening axle clamp bolts (manual p 10-7)

2) check sag when fork oil is warmed up after a ride.

3) are you checking sag from fully extended to rider on board? If you are, I'm guessing your 19mm figure is mostly free sag. (28mm would be ideal)

I'm 170lbs suited up and have changed out the fork springs for 0.90N. I also found there was too much oil in there from the factory, but as this is starting to get expensive...

4) back off preload to 8 lines. Take out ALL compression and rebound

5) fit a ziptie to fork leg and check position after ride. You should be using at least 2/3 travel