Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I'm new to the Kawi world and new to the forum, didn't see anything quite matching the problem I'm having so figured I'd post here.

Checked the valve clearance on my 2011 ZX-10R as I just bought the bike used, sure enough ten were reasonably out. Replaced the shims, put the cams on (0-28/29 teeth), TDC etc. Buttoned up the cam holders and upper chain guide, pulled the tensioner back so 3-4 ridges were exposed and dropped that in with the rod/spring/nut, things looked peachy.

I turned the crank over by hand (plugs are out obviously) and the cam chain skipped on me down by the crank. Intake and exhaust timing is still money but it's now 25% off TDC. I didn't push the crank any further, hoping the valves are okay. Removed everything, tried it again, still slipped when turning the crank.

Any tips on how to keep the cam chain from slipping on the lower crank sprocket? Do you need to pre-load the tensioner? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
*to clarify, intake and exhaust timing is money in relation to the two cam positions only, while the entire timing is 25% off compared to the crank

·
Registered
2,200 Posts