Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone knows much about the underslung swing arms fitted to race zx10rs such as bsb and world superbike.
What is the advantages of them and are they longer or more rigid?
Reason being i think they look great and i was contemplating making one for my bike as im an engineer.
Thanks

·
Registered
72 Posts
I'v been reeding about that short time ago. These swingarms aren't much stiffer than the stock ones. Don't get me wrong: It doesn't depend if it is underslung or not!

On most streetbikes we don't have them because of the exhaust.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
I was wondering if anyone knows much about the underslung swing arms fitted to race zx10rs such as bsb and world superbike.
What is the advantages of them and are they longer or more rigid?
Reason being i think they look great and i was contemplating making one for my bike as im an engineer.
Thanks
If you could get the measurements for a pattern to copy one that would probably answer your questions, i think the polished ally look is what makes em look smart as -ock :smile2:

·
Registered
838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you could get the measurements for a pattern to copy one that would probably answer your questions, i think the polished ally look is what makes em look smart as -ock :smile2:
I think the alloy looks good but i think its more to do with the shape of the underslung style.
Like motogp bikes.
It totally changes the look of the bike.
Ive never really been that struck on the stock swingarm shape.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
Could have something to do with keeping the weight down low as in below the axle!I have often looked at pricing and there around $4500 and up!Webike in Japan has 1 and claim it's a direct swap with all oem running gear(gen4)so I guessed the swing arm length was the same for that one!I would like to no all facts about them to

·
Registered
838 Posts