Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
To the best of my knowledge theres no way of cleaning up pad material if its 'saturated' in something like fork oil. I had a set few years back (stupidly) fall into a tub of WD-40 and there was no sorting them. Only way is to replace them!! Don't want what's stopping you working below par.

·
Registered
478 Posts
I'd be concerned with oil on the pads. I don't know what material these pads are made of but if they have developed a glaze then they at least need to be sanded to remove the glaze and even then I'd be worried.

The pads aren't very expensive and are pretty important. Why not invest in a fresh set for insurance?

·
Registered
84 Posts
I am a GM tech for 16 years there is no way to get any oil out of brake pads...You must replace them!!!!!!!I would not take the chance when you nead to stop you nead to stop!!!!!!!!pads $100.00 life worth much more than that.

·
Licensed Dist of HaterAde
11,423 Posts
I am a GM tech for 16 years there is no way to get any oil out of brake pads...You must replace them!!!!!!!I would not take the chance when you nead to stop you nead to stop!!!!!!!!pads $100.00 life worth much more than that.
:goodpost: Nuff Said?

(disgregard my first post....obviously:lol:)

·
Registered
700 Posts
If they are sintered metal you can try soaking them in carb cleaner and maybe take a torch and heat them up a little. But if they are organic they are toast. But it is still a good idea to replace them anyway whats $60 on a $10,000 motorcycle.

Here is a fun fact. I normally spray all the unpainted plastic and rubber on my bike with pure silicone to protect them. But when you get silicone on your break rotors there is no stopping power....ask me how i know.

·
Slow Poke
5,584 Posts
Discussion Starter #12