Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear people,

Please help this may be a very simple thing for someone that knows these the engines inside out but as yet I am not a complete expert so please bare with me.

A couple of month ago I cracked the head on my 2004 ZX10R, so a second hand 2005 head was bought and fitted by a friend. I was given the engine back and I threw it back in the frame all seemed to be going well.

On starting the bike it sounded awful like it had some horrible knocking coming from the engine, going through a process of elimination I/we came up with the following.

1, Its not the exhaust headers (well it might have played a small part) until i put the race exhaust back on to match the setting for the power commander.

2, It cant be the ends has it is not loosing oil pressure or any other pressure for that matter.

3, it cant be the engine rattling in the frame as all the bolt and spacers etc where checked again and again.

Soooooooo...................

4, Were left with the cam chain which seemed to be the only obvious thing left, so I took out the cam chain tightening bolt to put in the long allen key to push it forward to tighten the cam chain but it would not budge applied reasonable pressure and still no movement.

I then went onto to remove the whole cam chain tension thing and manually move the pin forward and use the two side screws to tighten it back into place there for manually tightening the cm chain so to speak, the only thing this achieved so stopping the engine from turning.

So, here I am left with the cam chain being the most logical reason for the noise but unable to tighten it any further. I am starting to get the feeling the whole engine needs to come out to take a look, believe not something i want to do unless really required.

Any help or bright ideas much appreciated

·
Registered
51 Posts