Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Cross-Eyed Cat
339 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ask the ---> L.E.O.'s Q & A Thread.

I think this thread needed to be started.

As a "former" Military LEO, I still get a lot of questions about this, that and the other. I was a patrol officer and SRT member (SWAT), and I loved to work traffic...the California Vehicle Code was my favorite reading material when sitting down on the throne!

I know that sometimes things happen to us while we are out on the road, either in the cage or on the road rocket...and when someone with a bit more knowledge can "shed some light" on the subject, it helps us all to feel better.

Just know, LEOs cannot give legal advice...they can only express their individual opinions...so don't ruin it by saying: "Well, this one cop on the ZX-10R forums said I could do that!" Just be real...and if you where wrong - accept the fact an pay your dues!

So, all you L.E.O.'s out there, chip in and give your 2 cents when people ask the question...

...now, let's see where this goes!

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
An ambulance was going down Parmer ln.(3 lanes 50mph zone) w/ their sirens on at 35 mph taking up the left 2 lanes. There was no traffic ahead of us so after about 2 miles I got tired of going slow and went to pass in the right hand open lane. As soon as I got next to them they honked at me and i put my hands in the air. I continued to pass them going the speed limit and turned on my street shortly after. So what's the fine for that and why would they be taking up 2 lanes?
Thanks for the input.

·
Cross-Eyed Cat
339 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Possible they were working on someone in the back and were keeping the speed down so the EMTs could perform whatever?

I don't know about IN., but in Cali, you can't pass an EV running code 3...regardless of their speed...and you have to stay about 300 feet behind as well if I remember correctly.

·
Registered
1,669 Posts