Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

I'm a total quickshifter noob here! I've never used one but read and hear that they're just a heck of a lot of fun. I'm considering one in the future because I think it'll breathe some life back into a bike that I've become accustomed to and one that I'm not quite as excited about as I used to be.

My bike is already flashed with Woolich but I didn't do it myself and nor do not understand much about he process other than my buddy plugged it into his computer and that new maps have been uploaded. All I know about quickshifters is that they use a strain gauge that triggers an ignition or fuel cut somehow.

What does it take to turn my bike into a quickshifting and autoblipping beast? Preferably I'd like to build on the Woolich reflash somehow to minimize aftermarket componentry and complications. I understand Woolich has this capability.

Parts required?
Is it complicated with an intrusive, hard to reverse install?
Cost?

Thanks very much!

P.S. I've already searched the forum (albeit briefly). lol

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
"quickshiter" lol

I assure you that this was a genuine typo!

·
R.I.P. REPOST Enforcement Mod
'16 ZX-10R KRT
15,945 Posts
Hey Porsche!

Quickshiting is a topic for a different thread! So I won't discuss that. But the quickshifter is pretty easy. It's a switch and control box that gets plugged into the harness and you put the switch on the throw rod by attached to the shift pedal. Run the wire from that, and set your kill times. I had my Bazzaz QS4USB reused from my Gen 3 on my Gen 4 and it worked lovely. Easy to reverse back to stock by unplugging a couple of things. It's a piggyback type arrangement. Some use strain gauges, others don't. The QS4USB does not. It's just a simple electronic switch.