Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellas!

I'm trying to advise my buddy about bikes he might be interested in. He's going to riding school soon and needs advice on which bikes to look at but I have little knowledge about bikes in the naked class. He'll be riding street exclusively and is very concerned about safety. With that in mind, I've advised him to focus on bikes with cornering ABS and traction control to manage the cold and wet conditions often experienced in my city.

In descending order of importance here are the requirements:
1. Naked bike (he likes the look and perceived comfort of a naked bike)
2. Cornering abs
3. Traction control
4. Reasonable cost (though he would buy a Ducati Monster since he's Italian too)
5. Smaller engine sizes preferred.

We found the 2018 Honda CB650F and Yamaha MT-09/FZ-09 and likes them both but they don't have cornering ABS, only old school upright ABS.

Thanks bike gurus!

·
Registered
28 Posts
I think you're going to be hard pressed to find cornering ABS on a smaller displacement naked right now. As far as I know only the Ktm 790 Duke comes equipped with that. Pretty sure "old school" ABS will be good enough lol. My advice would be to not buy a 2018 anything. He should definitely go used. I would also consider foregoing some of those electronics to develop skills without them. Although maybe that doesn't matter anymore since most bikes seem to be equipped with electronics these days. Either way I think it's a great time to start riding as there are more beginner bikes than ever. I don't think he could go wrong with any of the current crop of small nakeds. I'd go with the FZ-09/07 if I had to pick. Just my 2 cents :thumbsup:

·
Registered
912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·