Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, as the title says i ran a 9.8 with a 1.7 60ft. That was my best time of the night. I was running 10.0's-9.90's with a 1.8 60ft This is my first year racing and my 2nd time at the track with the bike. I was wondering if i can get any advice on improving my 60fts?

I weigh 193lbs not suited. Here is my parts list:
05 zx10 (gen 1)
-Brocks sidewinder
-Powercommander iii
-short stacks
-bmc filter
-tre
-1/5 throttle insert
-Evil swingarm (i believe i am 8-9 over)
-front 15t sprocket, rear 41t sprocket
-smog block off plates
-Brocks spring spacers
-Gen 2 busa shock
-dyno tuned

I know i should be running better times with my set up. Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was leaving around 9,000 and no it wasnt spinning. I have the hook up on the bike so it grips good. I read your advise on the other thread and i believe i may be slipping the clutch to long. i was bogging at first because i was releasing to early and then i slipped it out and i have no more bog. But i believe i may be over slipping it now.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
I was leaving around 9,000 and no it wasnt spinning. I have the hook up on the bike so it grips good. I read your advise on the other thread and i believe i may be slipping the clutch to long. i was bogging at first because i was releasing to early and then i slipped it out and i have no more bog. But i believe i may be over slipping it now.
Try leaving at a lower RPM like 5000 and work your way up. You will be able to get out of the clutch earlier and into the gas alot faster.

Are you squatting any coming off the line? That Gen2 busa shock is a monster for only being out 9", unless your a "big" guy of course.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Try leaving at a lower RPM like 5000 and work your way up. You will be able to get out of the clutch earlier and into the gas alot faster.