Kawasaki ZX-10R Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding street for many years and own a 2008 zx 10.I am going to race classes this summer and want to buy a second bike for track/street/ and a bit of stunt wheelie.I want to get more aggressive with my riding and want to take it slowly.I plan on having this bike for 2 to 3 years and only mods I want to do are sprocket and exhaust.I want to get the most out of this bike stock to challenge and better my riding skills.Also a bike that is easy to work on myself.I am currently thinking about

2002 Kawasaki zx6
2003 Kawasaki ex500
old faithful 2000 Kawasaki zx-7
2003 Honda cbr 900
2003 Honda cbr 600

I want to keep the purchase price low so when I crash it I am not crying about my loss, just fixer up and keep going.I am just starting out and I don't plan on winning any races but are theses bikes to old to be competitive?I know a lot has to do with the rider not just the bike.

·
Registered
355 Posts
I have a bike that I bought just for track days. Its an 05 GSXR600, I got it from a guy that had raced it for 4 or 5 years and it was already set up as a track bike. Sharkskinz, everything was safety wired already, suspension was fresh, came with extra chains and sprockets, front and rear stands and it even had a nice steering damper installed. I paid less for it than I would have paid for a worn out street bike, plus all of the track-only mods were already done.

I'd be looking for somebody elses track bike, regardless of make or model. Converting a street bike to a track bike is a pain in the ass. Taking the lights and mirrors off, taping some of them up, flushing the cooling system, then take it home and un-do all of it... Fuck that noise.

Also, street riding ruins track tires and street tires don't work very well on the track. My track bike never sees the street and my street bike has never been on the track.

·
Always On Mod
1,839 Posts