Gen 4: 2011-2015 Drag setup questions - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 07-07-2014, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider

Posting Frequency

Drag setup questions

Ok so I am completely new to drag racing a bike. I have 11 total passes. 5 first night 6 the second. First time I went I got it to go a 10.98 at 140. Crap 2.0 60ft. Second time I went I got down to a 10.61 at 144 with same 2.0 60 ft but improved my 330. Im slowly learning to control the wheelie with the clutch. But I also swear I smelled clutch on a couple passes. My fastest pass I actually just shifted to second at about 10k when it was coming up on me, and then pinned second. Not sure if thats a good approach or not...? How fast do most amateurs run on stock height stock geared gen 4s roughly? Everyone I see who posts results are geared it seems like.

The setup on the bike was stock. Stock height and gearing. Has a flash and slip-on. I weigh about 195 with no gear. Well now I put on an adjustable rear link so I can drop it when I go to the track. I also got a strap kit for it too. My plan for the next trip is to drop the back about 2 inches maybe? And then strap the front down and see how it works out. I do not want to stretch the bike. I wanna run low 9s though, so I know gearing will be required for that.