1st time to drag strip...burnouts necessary? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 05-18-2012, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

1st time to drag strip...burnouts necessary?

Hey guys,
I am thinking about going to the drag strip for the first time. Well I have been a few times but I never ran my bike. I have a 07 ZX10 basically stock, only performance add on is a slip on and it is SWB and stock height. I have looked at other threads but I am wondering how important is the burnout? I know it will allow me to hook better but do I need to do it? I have been riding for a few years but never made a pass at the track. I don't plan on going to the track every weekend maybe once or twice a year (mainly because I dont got the money) I dont want to waste a bunch of tread on burnouts for one day. Will not doing a burn out at the track be a huge safety risk and how much will it affect my time? Also any other tips for a new guy at the track launch tips etc?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-18-2012, 12:25 PM
Slow Poke

Posting Frequency

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingjamesiv View Post
Hey guys,
I am thinking about going to the drag strip for the first time. Well I have been a few times but I never ran my bike. I have a 07 ZX10 basically stock, only performance add on is a slip on and it is SWB and stock height. I have looked at other threads but I am wondering how important is the burnout? I know it will allow me to hook better but do I need to do it? I have been riding for a few years but never made a pass at the track. I don't plan on going to the track every weekend maybe once or twice a year (mainly because I dont got the money) I dont want to waste a bunch of tread on burnouts for one day. Will not doing a burn out at the track be a huge safety risk and how much will it affect my time? Also any other tips for a new guy at the track launch tips etc?