Gen 2: 2006-2007 I did my first track day... now the dilema... - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 03-03-2014, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

I did my first track day... now the dilema...

Hi guys, so I did my first ever track day this weekend (at Motorsport Ranch, Cresson, TX; 1.7 mile variation)... and it was TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!! It was so awesome that I don't think I want to ride street anymore, and just go to track days all the time... Now, there is a little problem...

I took my Gen 2 (as it was build as track bike, bought with salvaged frame, my thread about it is here: https://www.zx-10r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=121905). Even though, I am a noob to track days, it did not take me too long to realize that liter bike is way too much for the beginner like me. Now comes the dilema. I am keeping my Gen 2 for future races (as eventually, I will get good, plus I put too much work into it to just let it go), but I need something else to learn to ride track. So....

comes in 2005 GSX-R 750. That is my street bike that I ride every once in a while. So my question is: what should I do?
1. Do I sell my GSX-R and get something in the 600cc (R6, GSX-R 600, etc)
2. Do I keep it and turn GSX-R into another track bike?

my only concern is that though noticeable, the jump from liter to 750 is still going to be too much for me, where 600 will give me the best chance to learn?
Let me know that you think....

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 03-03-2014, 10:41 AM
Street Rider

Posting Frequency

Welcome to the addiction! 4:

Trackdays are a blast and Cresson is one of my fav Texas tracks. I decided to skip this weekend so that I can do both days at MSRH coming up.

In regards to the bike being too much for you...I'll give my $0.02 regarding the liter bike on the track, but most people will probably disagree with me.