Valve tolerance question - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 06-23-2010, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

Valve tolerance question

I just inspected my valve this morning on my 06 zx10 and they are a little loose.
I know the tolerance for the Ex is .17 - .22mm or .0067 - .0087in and for
the intake it is .15 - .24mm or .0059 - .0094in.

My question is where in that range should I be.

The bike is only used for track and race so no street miles. The bike is production so there is no special components.

I have called a few places some say go with the middle of the range while others are saying to go closer to the tight side.

I can see the benefits to both so any input would be very helpful

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-23-2010, 02:56 PM
GP Rider

Posting Frequency

I might be wrong on this but as a machinist I would think that as long you are within the high and low of your tolerances you should be ok. In the machine shop world thats why you have tolerance. Also if I understand things correctly the valves in this engines get tight over time instead of loose due to valveseat wear,....again not sure?

ITS BETTER TO BE HATED FOR WHAT YOU ARE...
THAN LOVED FOR WHAT YOUR NOT..................
post #3 of 18 Old 06-23-2010, 03:03 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider

Posting Frequency

Quote:
Originally Posted by nczx-10r View Post
I might be wrong on this but as a machinist I would think that as long you are within the high and low of your tolerances you should be ok. In the machine shop world thats why you have tolerance. Also if I understand things correctly the valves in this engines get tight over time instead of loose due to valveseat wear,....again not sure?