Truly bolt-on turbo kit? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 56 Old 12-22-2008, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Posting Frequency
 
Truly bolt-on turbo kit?

Thanks for the responses regarding how loud a typical turbo kit is- here's my next dumb question: I've seen a lot of posts where skilled and experienced people have installed turbos on their zx10rs, people who obviously know if ins and outs of tuning and maybe turbos in general, or were well on their way to learning.

My question is, can a somewhat experienced garage mechanic bolt on a turbo and get it to work, maybe in a mild state of tune (like just to get another 30-50 HP, 3-5 pounds of boost)? If I did it, it would just to be a few month's project to get a hopped up bike, and not a drag/competition machine with new pistons, crank, valves etc. etc.

I could find a shop with a dyno to do some fine-turning, but I'm picturing ordering a complete kit from somewhere and spending nights and weekends just throwing it on and tinkering with it until it ran.

I'm no master bike mech, but I can strip bolts adjusting the valves in my Ducati, rejet carbs, clean the soot off the plugs 'cause it's running too rich, etc, so I have plenty of experience taking a perfectly good bike and turning it into a nightmare- is a turbo kit for me? Thanks for any thoughts.
chris-LA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 12-22-2008, 08:14 PM
inappropriate
 
hesaves0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY/NJ/NC
Posts: 7,728
Posting Frequency
Images: 67
           
Send a message via AIM to hesaves0211
your safest bet is to drop $4000 on a velocity kit and get er tuned by a pro. From all my money, two motors and two kits later that's the best advice I could give you. Follow my turbo journal and turbo-10 threads for more advice but trust me on this one. With an intermediate velocity kit you can safely run 6psi at 200+hp on 93 pump gas. It's just unfortunate that there's no room under the 10r's hood for an intercooler.

1ST GEN-10R 234hp/[email protected], GT2871RS, cometic gasket, tial bov/ex wastegate, BEGI FMU, WALBRO fuel pump,falicon clutch basket,race pak clutch,200/50 pilot,yana-shiki levers,.net wristband, WEGO III,PC3,GPR damper,cbr cals/Galfer SS brake lines,gp shift,1/5 throttle, 2NDARIES REMOVED <<click for how-to, *R.I.P D.J 10 Apr 04*
hesaves0211 is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 12-22-2008, 08:26 PM
GP Rider
 
Vince10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harleysville, Pa
Posts: 1,561
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
   
Velocity and take it to get it tuned dont just go out and run it with the map they give you. Or just put a 40hp dry shot on it and go have fun.
Vince10R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 56 Old 12-22-2008, 09:05 PM
WSB Rider
 
redline659's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 819
Posting Frequency
  
There is plenty of room for an intercooler
redline659 is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 12-22-2008, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Posting Frequency
 
Thanks-

but could I just bolt it on in my garage, get it running, and ride it to the shop where the pro could tune it to get working right? What I mean is, if I'm shooting for a mild, conservative tune using pump gas and not doing any internal engine mods, could I get it working with my Craftsman tools that has two 13mms and no 12mm?

I can fab small parts out of alum. and steel and stuff, but does the Velocity kit pretty much bolt on? I don't mind doing some drilling and tapping but major engine work is beyond my abiltiy right now and my wife would complain about the marks in the dining room table. Also I don't want to melt any pistons or spin any bearings.

Chris
chris-LA is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 12-23-2008, 08:35 AM
inappropriate
 
hesaves0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY/NJ/NC
Posts: 7,728
Posting Frequency
Images: 67
           
Send a message via AIM to hesaves0211
the velocity kit plugs right in. throw in the map they provide you and ride it to the tuner. it sounds you should have about all you need to accomplish the job so dont sweat it.

1ST GEN-10R 234hp/[email protected], GT2871RS, cometic gasket, tial bov/ex wastegate, BEGI FMU, WALBRO fuel pump,falicon clutch basket,race pak clutch,200/50 pilot,yana-shiki levers,.net wristband, WEGO III,PC3,GPR damper,cbr cals/Galfer SS brake lines,gp shift,1/5 throttle, 2NDARIES REMOVED <<click for how-to, *R.I.P D.J 10 Apr 04*
hesaves0211 is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 12-23-2008, 09:15 AM
Postwhore with an 04
 
bcm0018's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 4,387
Posting Frequency
           
Doesn't muzzy make one too? Never really considered a turbo so I'm not sure what is really out there.
bcm0018 is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 12-23-2008, 09:37 AM
inappropriate
 
hesaves0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY/NJ/NC
Posts: 7,728
Posting Frequency
Images: 67
           
Send a message via AIM to hesaves0211
muzzy is complete shit. its turbonetic turbo leaks and their customer support sucks. besides, they dont offer a fuel system like velocity does.

1ST GEN-10R 234hp/[email protected], GT2871RS, cometic gasket, tial bov/ex wastegate, BEGI FMU, WALBRO fuel pump,falicon clutch basket,race pak clutch,200/50 pilot,yana-shiki levers,.net wristband, WEGO III,PC3,GPR damper,cbr cals/Galfer SS brake lines,gp shift,1/5 throttle, 2NDARIES REMOVED <<click for how-to, *R.I.P D.J 10 Apr 04*
hesaves0211 is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 12-23-2008, 06:38 PM
WSB Rider
 
redline659's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 819
Posting Frequency
  
Bolt on and no issues, negative, get ur wallet ready
redline659 is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 12-23-2008, 07:04 PM
GP Rider
 
Vince10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harleysville, Pa
Posts: 1,561
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
   
Buy the velocity kit and make sure you have the 12mm socket you will need it. also make sure it has fuel in it when you take it to the dyno(definetly get it tuned if your spending 4000 for a kit another 200 wont kill you) or it will melt, I have a motor here with 4 miles on it that melted a piston on the guys bike I got the motor from.
Vince10R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turbo motor and turbo kit 04-05 dble r Parts, Gear and Accessories 13 09-28-2008 08:36 PM
Size of motor mount bolt/frame slider bolt? NYC_ZX10 ZX-6R & ZX-6RR Archives 2 11-26-2007 10:49 PM
Pro-bolt kit blue thunder Performance and Tech 27 03-20-2007 08:13 PM
muzzy turbo or velocity turbo turboten Performance and Tech 20 09-13-2006 10:47 AM
Suzuki Hayabusa Turbo vs. Dodge Viper GTS Twin-Turbo jb_motogp Pictures and Videos 0 08-03-2005 02:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome