tire size v. suspension adj. question. - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 07-03-2005, 05:12 PM Thread Starter

Posting Frequency

tire size v. suspension adj. question.

I recently got a set of Dunlop 209 GP's, they are great, the front is stock size, but the rear is a 190/60/17, my bike was set up by Race Tech for the stock front size and a 180/55/17 rear, I had Pilot Race tires before. So my question is with the new tire the back feels really big and I think the suspension should be adjusted for the new tire size, what would be some things to get started with? My thought is the rear shock needs some pre load taken off, and nothing in the front, but i am not very good with these new style suspensions, thats why I had Race Tech do the bike before. So any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-03-2005, 05:55 PM
I really need to get out of the house

Posting Frequency

Its not that the back is really big!! its that the rear has been raised some 4-5mm due to the 60 series tire for pity sakes, hence the geometry has been altered and not the suspension. Do you have OEM suspension?? if so remove the 3mm shim atop the shock mount which will help, if not remove it anyway.

Has your wheelbase been altered with a different chain/sprocket setup allowing a tallish tire like this to fit?? Do you know if the tire will clear the inner hugger ??(if you still have it)

BD

Those who stir the shit pot should have to lick the spoon.
post #3 of 8 Old 07-03-2005, 06:02 PM Thread Starter

Posting Frequency