Throttle a little loose - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 05-03-2008, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
DsTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rosamond, California
Posts: 337
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Throttle a little loose

How do I take the play out of the throttle?

Everyday I'm Hustlin'!
DsTroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-03-2008, 12:18 PM
Speed Freak
 
garth285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: PSL, Florida
Posts: 12,730
Posting Frequency
           
Send a message via AIM to garth285
there are two adjustments, one on the pull and one on the play cable..... there is a small lock type of cirle thing that you loosen and then back the main body of the adjuster out.... make sence??? lol.... if its a 04-05 i know theres one usually right near the neck of the frame.....
garth285 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-03-2008, 12:22 PM
YZF
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 808
Posting Frequency
  
If you can get manual somewhere, it is written very clearly, with pictures.
YZF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 05-03-2008, 03:20 PM
Track Day Rider
 
dbltakeZX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chitown
Posts: 207
Posting Frequency
Images: 22
 
Send a message via AIM to dbltakeZX10 Send a message via Yahoo to dbltakeZX10
1/5 insert will help a lil

dbltakeZX10 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-05-2008, 03:02 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 352
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbltakeZX10 View Post
1/5 insert will help a lil
Doesn't matter.. Excess throttle play needs to be adjusted out in the manner already posted.
Advanced Kawasaki is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-05-2008, 08:05 AM
Track Day Rider
 
dbltakeZX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chitown
Posts: 207
Posting Frequency
Images: 22
 
Send a message via AIM to dbltakeZX10 Send a message via Yahoo to dbltakeZX10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advanced Kawasaki View Post
Doesn't matter.. Excess throttle play needs to be adjusted out in the manner already posted.
ok

dbltakeZX10 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-05-2008, 08:14 AM
Of course you are faster
 
Rifleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 2,062
Posting Frequency
         
1/5th will make the throttle "shorter" but it still needs to be adjusted properly.

both the GenI and GenII bikes have an adjustor on the cable up near the tripple tree. Simply loosen the locking ring... back the adjustor out a little, lock the ring back in place.

NOTE: The throttle MUST SPRING RETURN TO IDLE instantly every time... to much tention on the cable can make it slow, sluggish, or even hang in the open position... adjust your cable tention and then test is several times to make sure it snaps back every time, instantly to idle.

This is what you are looking for, obviously they are assembled on your machine.




Need to know how to install your Rifleman's 1/5th throttle insert? click me
For more info on a sticky grip (not enough cable slack) click me
And another amazing install write up click this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifleman View Post
lol, once you go 1/5th... you NEVER go back
Rifleman is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-05-2008, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
DsTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rosamond, California
Posts: 337
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by YZF View Post
If you can get manual somewhere, it is written very clearly, with pictures.
I would but can't find one anywhere. And I refuse to get the CD rom one on ebay.

Everyday I'm Hustlin'!
DsTroy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-05-2008, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
DsTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rosamond, California
Posts: 337
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifleman View Post
1/5th will make the throttle "shorter" but it still needs to be adjusted properly.

both the GenI and GenII bikes have an adjustor on the cable up near the tripple tree. Simply loosen the locking ring... back the adjustor out a little, lock the ring back in place.

NOTE: The throttle MUST SPRING RETURN TO IDLE instantly every time... to much tention on the cable can make it slow, sluggish, or even hang in the open position... adjust your cable tention and then test is several times to make sure it snaps back every time, instantly to idle.

This is what you are looking for, obviously they are assembled on your machine.


So I don't need to go under the tank?

Everyday I'm Hustlin'!
DsTroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Air bolts get loose Velociraptor The ZX-10R 6 03-31-2008 12:02 PM
Beware, heated grips + thin throttle tube = stuck throttle Drain Fade The ZX-10R 3 10-14-2007 02:34 PM
Head Set Loose iskysoma01 Performance and Tech 8 01-09-2007 10:26 AM
tailight loose blackgold Performance and Tech 12 07-30-2006 08:54 AM
Loose bolts to look for mad kaw The ZX-10R 7 05-24-2005 05:59 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome