Stuck Sprocket Nut? A final desperation solution ... - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider
 
RussMcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA USA
Posts: 664
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Stuck Sprocket Nut? A final desperation solution ...

I've had tough times removing sprocket nuts in the past, but they've always budged eventually with an impact gun, sometimes after adding heat. Tonight, though, I rounded off the wimpy nut and had to come up with a new plan.

I found a big nut (1.25"), cut it in half, did some gutting and welded it onto the rounded Kawi nut. Then I was able to get it off easily with an impact gun.

I can't help but wonder why Kawasaki used such a stupidly shaped nut. I assume there was a reason, but I can't guess why it has so little meat to grab.

I am vowing to put it back together with a half height nylon locking nut, assuming I can find one. I think the thread is 20MM x 1.75. Can anyone confirm?


On edit: Threads are 1.5 pitch.



When I locate the better nuts, I'll post here where I found them. I am hoping that will solve the problem once & for all.
Attached Images
  

RussMcB
F1000 (SCCA Formula Car w/ '07 ZX-10R engine) - Sold in 2010 :-(
'99 ZRX1100
Marietta, GA USA

Last edited by RussMcB; 01-02-2009 at 10:11 AM. Reason: Corrected thread pitch.
RussMcB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 08:34 PM
GP Star
 
edouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 2,897
Posting Frequency
         
I think that is a bad idea to modify the factory sprocket nut
edouble is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider
 
RussMcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA USA
Posts: 664
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
That was just to get the old stripped nut off. I don't plan to use it again.
RussMcB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:01 PM
GP Star
 
edouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 2,897
Posting Frequency
         
This is all I could find part number 92015-1963 http://fiche.ronayers.com/Index.cfm/...p/Transmission
edouble is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:22 PM
GP Rider
 
cardeea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,186
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
   
I think it was a three way nut if not mistaking. Don' t know why kawi used it. It was bitch for me too. If you are talking about the foward sprocket. I went with the largest socket to lock but first shoot some WD40 on it. I let it sit for more than an hour. Then hit it. She came off with elbow grease.. Good luck finding a replacement bolt...

On the Fast Orange One. Marvics Silverstone Gold Mag (lighter than Marshs), Full Akra Ti Hex, 14 Cals, PC3 with a bad ass map, Scotts, Pazzos, hell about 7k in aftermarket parts fast. So now you know I'm Floyd Money Mayweather fast!! Kanye taking the mic from Taylor Swift fast!! haha Just damn fast!!

Last edited by cardeea; 12-21-2008 at 09:24 PM.
cardeea is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:28 PM
GP Rider
 
Vince10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harleysville, Pa
Posts: 1,561
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
   
Put a socket on the smaller part of the nut, there is a whole lot more for it to grab on to. I assume you dont use the speedo(because your looking to change the nut to a different one) so you dont have to worry about messing up the triggering edges.

Last edited by Vince10R; 12-21-2008 at 09:46 PM.
Vince10R is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:30 PM
GP Rider
 
dirt ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,971
Posting Frequency
Images: 9
    
Are you poping the transmission in first and having someone hold the rear break before you hit the nut with a impact gun?? Also is your impact gun strong enough? Just tossing some ideas.

Marchesini Magnesiums,Nassert beet,kawi cam,.45 headgasket,DJ PC/Ig.M/QS,velocity stacks,bmc race,gipro,sato rearsets,helibars,throttlemeisters,pazzo shorties,speedohealer,520 renthal sprockets,penske 8393 double clicker,traxxion dynamic springs,scotts stabilizer,lsl frame sliders,cox radiator guard,powerbronze hugger,puig DB,solo seat cover,Valentine1,dual low beam projectors,55w.hids, brembo superbike rotors,Goodridge superbike lines,nissin calipers and rizoma mirrors,mda123 battery.
dirt ninja is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:36 PM
Bloo Moderator
 
bluedevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SAC,CA
Posts: 23,742
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince10R View Post
Put a socket on the smaller part of the nut, there is a whole lot more for it to grab on to. I assume you dont use the speedo(because your looing to change the nut to a different one) so you dont have to worry about messing up the triggering edges.


any deviation otherwise will mess with the speedo.
bluedevil is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 09:52 PM
GP Rider
 
cardeea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,186
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
   
1 gear does not work. Hurting the transmission! You need to have someone to lock the rear brake then with the chain and rear wheel still in riding position..

On the Fast Orange One. Marvics Silverstone Gold Mag (lighter than Marshs), Full Akra Ti Hex, 14 Cals, PC3 with a bad ass map, Scotts, Pazzos, hell about 7k in aftermarket parts fast. So now you know I'm Floyd Money Mayweather fast!! Kanye taking the mic from Taylor Swift fast!! haha Just damn fast!!
cardeea is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 12-21-2008, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider
 
RussMcB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA USA
Posts: 664
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince10R View Post
Put a socket on the smaller part of the nut, there is a whole lot more for it to grab on to. I assume you dont use the speedo(because your looking to change the nut to a different one) so you dont have to worry about messing up the triggering edges.
AHA! Yes, you are correct. I knew there must be a reason. I feel dumb. :-).

I have a big socket in my toolbox that fits the widest part of the nut, but not the smaller (27mm?).

While Googling, I've found this in the UK. Still looking for a source in the USA.

https://www.z-power.co.uk/merchantma...oducts_id=1646
RussMcB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im stuck with the 10 EbonyZX10R General Motorcycle Discussions 23 03-07-2009 04:10 AM
for those that want an HID solution 2wheeler The ZX-10R 0 05-31-2007 06:42 PM
K&N filter solution on BMC SOUN1 Performance and Tech 3 01-31-2007 11:24 AM
the mirror solution... Older Guy The ZX-10R 23 11-24-2006 06:49 PM
Another possible solution to the vibrating handlebars. ZX10 Guy The ZX-10R 5 08-01-2004 02:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome