SS brake line routing - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
livefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 57
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to livefast
SS brake line routing

Sorry tried search first but to no avail... After installing a set of a galfers I cut the rubber thing off the stock lines to put into the little routing clip I beleive on the lower triple. Well that promptly fell out, and now starting to rub a little through the rubber coating, any suggestions as to what others have done, should I just tape these things up around that area or take that little bracket off so it doesn't rub or what? Thanks for any input.
livefast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:19 PM
GP Star
 
ZX-10R_Sinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northwestern Iowa
Posts: 3,360
Posting Frequency
         
Not 100% positive what you're talking about but in some way would a zip tie work?
ZX-10R_Sinner is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
livefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 57
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to livefast
i don't think so, might give 'er a try though... Yeah right where they come down from the MC, run along the fork tube, there is a bracket right there where the stockers had a rubber cover...
livefast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:27 PM
GP Star
 
ZX-10R_Sinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northwestern Iowa
Posts: 3,360
Posting Frequency
         
Yup, I went out to see exactly what you were talking about and although I couldn't see it, just be feeling a zip tie probably won't help.
ZX-10R_Sinner is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
livefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 57
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to livefast
Yeah I was out looking... I wish I could find my camera cord for the computer haha. I think I might be ghetto and just put some electrical tape around them for now...
livefast is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:44 PM
Champion Rider
 
b_silva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 289
Posting Frequency
    
Send a message via AIM to b_silva2000
i took the bracket ur talking about off, it was actually causing problems with rubbing when i installed mine
b_silva2000 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:47 PM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
So you lost the rubber "grommet"?

"You can't trust anyone, not even your own asshole; sometimes you think you're gonna fart and you sh*t."
themightymezzo is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 05:54 PM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
I think when I put my lines on I put them through the rubber piece and stuck it back in the clip. Maybe get a new one and cut it then tape it around the lines (not to the line but just around the rubber) and stick it back in the clip?

I'm sure there are other ways to do it as well but this would be my route consider that piece of rubber can't be that much...I wouldn't think.

"You can't trust anyone, not even your own asshole; sometimes you think you're gonna fart and you sh*t."
themightymezzo is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
livefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 57
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to livefast
"grommet" "rubber thingy" either way haha That was attached to the stock line (had to cut it off) so I'm going to try to just take the bracket off and check for fitment. Thanks for the input guys!
livefast is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-15-2008, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
livefast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 57
Posting Frequency
 
Send a message via MSN to livefast
Alright I just went out and pulled that bracket off, think this should work pretty good... barely touches anything with full side to side travel, even with compression on the front end. Thanks guys, guess I shoulda just got off my lazy @ss in the first place and played around with it.
livefast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10R Galfer Brake Line on 636 MC? zx-10r203 Performance and Tech 10 12-29-2006 03:59 PM
Brake Line tank zx10r The Out House 1 10-19-2006 09:58 PM
brake line question bellevuetlr Performance and Tech 6 04-20-2006 01:36 PM
Brake line & pad suggestions? Rembrant The Out House 4 08-21-2005 09:55 AM
Brake line help. maze Performance and Tech 3 04-28-2005 01:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome