Are slipons bike specific? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-01-2008, 01:18 PM Thread Starter

Posting Frequency

Are slipons bike specific?

I am hoping that some of the more knowledgeable members will comment. A lot of advertising $$ is spent trying to sell the power gains of brand "A" over the factory pipe. Yet as I have looked over the threads here I see guys making their own pipes, cutting down perfectly good cans, etc. Are slip ons tuned for a specific bike or are they just produced with the hangers in different places for different bikes? I have a 08 zx-10, and I'm trying to make a decision on what to replace the strange excuse of a can with.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-01-2008, 03:15 PM
Postwhore with an 04

Posting Frequency

I am not an expert but I imagine they would have to be bike specific. The bends, pipe length, and diameter can probably vary. If they weren't bike specific then the manufacturers would not go through the trouble of manufacturing different ones for different bikes and I haven't seen any universal slip ons
post #3 of 7 Old 04-01-2008, 03:34 PM
formerly GHOST RIDER

Posting Frequency

I have Yoshi. , Akra exhaust (full length & shorties) and made my own for my ZX10..As for gaining or lost of low, mid or high to the "brand name mfg" I can't tell the difference. All I can really say is I LIKE MINE BETTER!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 04-01-2008, 03:34 PM
I really need to get out of the house

Posting Frequency

Send a message via AIM to luckz88 Send a message via Yahoo to luckz88
yes and no...any pipe can work with any bike as long as the bends are modified out of the can to align with the headers and mid pipe of the existing hardware...its easier just to buy a pipe for your bike though
post #5 of 7 Old 04-01-2008, 03:36 PM
Retired post whore

Posting Frequency

Quote:
Originally Posted by luckz88 View Post