shifting question - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
leemille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 113
Posting Frequency
 
shifting question

i have a zx10r engine in my race car. in order to get the drive train setup i wanted i had to remove the front sprocket cover. this also disables the speedo. now the question.
is the speedo input required in any way for the shifter to work correctly?
specifically, have i screwed up the neutral lockout?
will i go into neutral or will it shift into second when i shift up from first?
when i shift down from second it will go into neutral or first?

any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

"I'm your father, Luke!"
leemille is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 02:13 PM
WSB Rider
 
Orange Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ricanville, PA
Posts: 561
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemille View Post
i have a zx10r engine in my race car. in order to get the drive train setup i wanted i had to remove the front sprocket cover. this also disables the speedo. now the question.
is the speedo input required in any way for the shifter to work correctly?
specifically, have i screwed up the neutral lockout?
will i go into neutral or will it shift into second when i shift up from first?
when i shift down from second it will go into neutral or first?

any input on this would be greatly appreciated.
It will operate normally.

Orange Juice is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 02:47 PM
FAF
Rent this space
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,590
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
           
The neutral lockout is mechanical, so no problem.
FAF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 06:03 PM
Bloo Moderator
 
bluedevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SAC,CA
Posts: 23,742
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
           
and to add if you look at the Schematic the Speed Sensor only outputs to the Cluster and you can run a bike without the Cluster....so basically it's just an Indicator signal and doesn't affect the ECU or mechanical systems.

bloo
bluedevil is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-18-2008, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
leemille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 113
Posting Frequency
 
thanks. i can aways count on getting the true answer for this forum.

"I'm your father, Luke!"
leemille is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Down Shifting? Tread70 The ZX-10R 31 08-24-2006 06:02 PM
Shifting to first (06 10R) YZF The ZX-10R 17 05-09-2006 09:51 PM
shifting question tjvtsportsman The Out House 10 10-02-2005 09:09 PM
shifting question for you smrat people king-tony Performance and Tech 6 05-05-2005 08:15 PM
GP shifting ? ? packetsmurf The ZX-10R 32 03-14-2005 01:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome