Gen 2: 2006-2007 Running on 2 cylinders; ECU to blame?? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 05-06-2011, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
1_slo_mofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Posting Frequency
 
Running on 2 cylinders; ECU to blame??

wondering if anyone else on this forum has experienced a faulty ECU?

Symptoms started when bike was running on 3 cylinders...I changed faulty coil pack, and all spark plugs. Bike ran fine for a very short amount of time. Now, only two cylinders are running.

I've tested many things, and followed instructions in the service manual. There is compression, coil packs are good, valve clearance is good. Voltage across injectors, coil packs are good. All wiring checked. There is correct voltage across all injectors. I don't know what else to check, so I'm thinking it's the ECU. Service manual suggest the same.


Has anyone else had a similar experience? Could the ECU get damaged if bike is boosted incorrectly?
1_slo_mofo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 03:20 AM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STL
Posts: 1,516
Posting Frequency
  
could be
hellboytt is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 03:21 AM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STL
Posts: 1,516
Posting Frequency
  
did you check you valve retainers?
hellboytt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 06:06 AM
GP Rider
 
TexasRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mesquite, Tx
Posts: 1,413
Posting Frequency
      
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellboytt View Post
did you check you valve retainers?
If it were the retainers I dont think it would clear up like the op stated then come back...would it?/

Faster than a drunk snail on valium!

07 zx10r- stolen
New bike...07 GSXR1000..BMC filter, LOR slip on, 520 conversion with -1, speedohealer, pc3 custom map with xtre settings, Galfer superbike lines front, galfer sportbike line rear, shorty levers, Yami R1 throttle tube for 1/5 throttle, PAIR mod, exhaust valve gone, ecu flashed.
TexasRider is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 07:58 AM
WSB Rider
 
Flipr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Posts: 825
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
  
Have you had your bike on a Dyno recently??
If your answer is yes,check your wiring loom that plugs into the ECU.
Mine had 2 of the wires for Stick coils coming out of the plug.When it was dynoed,they jammed probes in there to get a rev signal,which breaks the connector and the pins start coming out of the connector.You'll have to un-plug your loom from the ECU and turn it upside down to see it properly.

Area P slip-on & link pipe,De-catted Headers,PCV & Autotune,Ivans block off plates,K & N filter,X-Tre,Driven Superlite sprockets,+2 rear,stock front,520 conversion,V4 Speedohealer,Servo motor eliminator,Re-valved Ohlins damper,Spiegler front brake lines,Zero Gravity SR dark smoke screen,Stompgrip tank pads,ZX-6 rear cowl,and more to come.

Speed dosen't kill,it's the sudden stop!!!
Flipr is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 08:50 AM
WSB Rider
 
ducatibrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ
Posts: 927
Posting Frequency
Images: 18
  
Send a message via Yahoo to ducatibrandon
Double check the coil packs with a good meter. They don't have much forgivness on the scale. I also found a 4 pack on ebay for for $85 bucks. They use the same coils for a lot of years zx10-14's.
ducatibrandon is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
1_slo_mofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Posting Frequency
 
the bike hasn't been on a dyno recently. It was in storage for just under a year when I bought it from the previous owner, so not sure if when the battery was boosted, it damaged the ecu?

As for the coil packs, I've checked the voltage across all of them as described in the service manual, and everything is to spec.

Since all the electrical test checked out fine, I figured it might be the injectors. I switched the injectors from the cylinders that don't fire with the other two that did. If the injectors were to blame, then this test would show that. However, when I switched them around, the problem was still at the same two cylinders that weren't firing. That's why I'm thinking there is something wrong with the ECU itself.

Would a dealer be able to scan the ECU itself to determine if it's faulty or not?
1_slo_mofo is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 09:48 AM
Gen 5 Now!!
 
08zx10rny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 1,128
Posting Frequency
Images: 4
   
might sound stupid but did you pull the plugs to see if any are fouled

GEN 5!!!

08zx10rny is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
1_slo_mofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Posting Frequency
 
yup, plugs were pulled and checked, gaps were good too. I still replaced them with brand new ones just to be safe.

I just heard back from another mechanic who went through a similar situation, and a new ecu solved his problems. I'm gonna give it a shot and see what happens
1_slo_mofo is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-07-2011, 03:06 PM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: STL
Posts: 1,516
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1_slo_mofo View Post
yup, plugs were pulled and checked, gaps were good too. I still replaced them with brand new ones just to be safe.

I just heard back from another mechanic who went through a similar situation, and a new ecu solved his problems. I'm gonna give it a shot and see what happens
there is a 2nd gen ecu in the for sale section
hellboytt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
07 Zx10r running on 3 cylinders Dsome The ZX-10R 3 08-25-2016 10:29 AM
Cylinders running different compression on stock block 09zx10miami Performance and Tech 6 10-26-2010 12:12 AM
whos to blame for the economy animalhouse The Out House 101 02-20-2009 06:08 PM
Blame the dog! red636girl The Funny Pages 7 04-22-2008 03:00 AM
Bike running on Three Cylinders slowestjoe The ZX-10R 12 10-22-2005 09:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome