Gen 1: 2004-2005 Retrofit Bi-Xenon Projectors with installation - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 07-03-2012, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider

Posting Frequency

Retrofit Bi-Xenon Projectors with installation

Sharing this little project I had done over the weekend.

I am by no means a professional and I had it all done within a saturday afternoon.

here are the improvements:

low beam stock:

high beam stock:

low beam retrofit:

high beam retrofit:

the difference is night and day! and i kept my stock adjusters so i can aim the projectors.

heres a list of the items i used in the retrofit:
morimotos H1 bixenon retrofit projectors
drill with 1" hole saw
55w HID slim digital AC ballasts
40A relay from ultrahid.com
soldering iron
18gauge wire from radioshack
patience

heres a pic of the projectors i used:

they fit into the stock housing without any modifications at all its a retrofit dream come true.

heres how to do it / i did it:
first step get the headlights off. remove all fairings (not explaining this except for one part)
this headless screw

needs to be unscrewed with a vice grip or other such tool. idk what kawasaki was thinking when they made that bolt... anywho after you get all the fairings removed (left and right upper and lowers and windscreen) remove the headlight.

you should have this... hopefully lol

once you have the headlight off the fun stuff begins.

first thing you need to do is to get into the headlight housing. to do this you need to place it in an oven. i placed it in my oven at 265F and let it bake for 6 minutes. once this is done you need to pry open the housing. there is a black silicone that should be pliable enough to seperate the housing. after that you should be left with this.