Question on Stator - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 07-16-2010, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Squid

Posting Frequency

Send a message via AIM to jdawg707
Question on Stator

Its on a 1998 Zx9r and it died a few nights ago, i charged the battery up and it runs, but i checked the battery it holds at a 12.5v, and when running the V's is at 12.2(charging volts), im not 100% sure what all the readings on the stator compared to the Alternator(im a Automotive Technician), but i checked the 3wires coming out of the stator and readings are .7v's, 4's, and approx 1.7v's....Any ideas, im thinking stator is going out on it. I checked the ground points, and the connector, cleaned and made sure it was good contact because there was heat resistance there, and i found corrosion, cleaned still didnt fix the issue.

Any help, or confirmation of the stator would be very helpful :D

Thanks
-Jackie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-16-2010, 07:10 AM
Track Day Rider

Posting Frequency

Your stator readings sound like your meter is in VDC.. Make sure you are in Volts AC. You should have above 40VAC when bike is revved above 4-5,000 rpms (alot of people are going to split hairs with specs, but it is not necessary) Do your tests between the three wires in pairs.

Also turn your meter to ohms and probe any of the stator leads (BIKE NOT RUNNING) and check that there is no continuity to ground. If there is then the stator is internally grounded and will have to be replaced.

While your meter is in ohms you should go ahead and check resistance between the three legs of the stator (BIKE NOT RUNNING). Spec is .05-.5 ohms (once again don't split hairs... components often work perfectly even when not in specified range)

Your battery charging voltage number is low. You should have around 14.4 VDC at 4,000 rpms. As long as it doesn't exceed 15.2 VDC it is not overcharging.