Question for Kwak Race ECU owners - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 07-18-2007, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
FAF
Rent this space
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,590
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
           
Question for Kwak Race ECU owners

Does the ECU have Lambda ?

Cant find much info on it.
FAF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-18-2007, 11:36 PM
WSB Rider
 
HKMP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 943
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAF View Post
Does the ECU have Lambda ?

Cant find much info on it.
No it doesnt have any provisions for a Lambda. Do you have one let me know what I can do to help.

Cheers,

"MY BIKE IS FASTER THAN YOURS I CAN TEACH YOU BUT I'LL HAVE TO CHARGE"

"I've never seen the "eco" mode on my Gen 4 dash I read about it in the owners manual" : some racer
HKMP7 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 12:14 AM
GP Rider
 
Rspec99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Great White North
Posts: 1,634
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
      
I have the kit ECU and as HKMP7 said, I don't think there is a provision for a lambda.

I am still looking for the tuning link (cable), and the software for my ZX-10R, as I am still using the PC3 as a piggyback. It's just that I have a hard time justifying paying so much for the cable!
Rspec99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 12:45 AM
inappropriate
 
hesaves0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY/NJ/NC
Posts: 7,728
Posting Frequency
Images: 67
           
Send a message via AIM to hesaves0211
whats a lambda and how much better is the race ecu that stock? sorry to thread jack but i tried searching "race ecu" but only "race" related stuff popped up

1ST GEN-10R 234hp/[email protected], GT2871RS, cometic gasket, tial bov/ex wastegate, BEGI FMU, WALBRO fuel pump,falicon clutch basket,race pak clutch,200/50 pilot,yana-shiki levers,.net wristband, WEGO III,PC3,GPR damper,cbr cals/Galfer SS brake lines,gp shift,1/5 throttle, 2NDARIES REMOVED <<click for how-to, *R.I.P D.J 10 Apr 04*

Last edited by hesaves0211; 07-19-2007 at 01:11 AM.
hesaves0211 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 02:31 AM
GP Rider
 
Rspec99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Great White North
Posts: 1,634
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
      
The lambda being referred is basically the provision for an O2 sensor input. Some ECU's, for example the ones used in modern cars are closed loop fuel injection, meaning that the O2 sensor measures the air fuel mixture realtime and adjusts accordingly. With emissions controls and standards, bikes will all be closed-loop EFI systems in the not so distant future I think. I think the suggestion is whether the race ECU can receive an input from an O2 sensor and operate in a self-calibration closed loop mode.

The Race ECU allows programmability and adjustments to just about every electronically governed engine parameter, including fueling and ignition timing. It can also do away with many of the "street" bike systems of the bike such as control of the secondary throttle plates, the timing retard in the lower gears, exhaust valve servo removal, and increasing the rev limiter.

I was at a dyno day a couple years back, and a local sponsored racer swapped his regular ECU with a race ECU and ran back to back runs. Now the race ECU was unmapped and unprogrammed. Back to back dyno runs yielded a 4-5hp difference. On his ZX6RR he picked up a phenomenal 9hp!

Last edited by Rspec99; 07-19-2007 at 02:34 AM.
Rspec99 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 04:58 AM
GP Star
 
bkkninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LOS
Posts: 3,561
Posting Frequency
           
My ZX10R already have the Lambda as standard! Currently removed and fitted lambda eliminators. To stop the FI light tripping. If you are using an ECU for race track purposes. U do not need the Lambda sensors. Unless your bike will be subject to CO2 testing.....
bkkninja is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
FAF
Rent this space
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,590
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
           
The reason I asked is because I want to go closed loop , but I dont want a bike full of piggy back units controlling the DFI , I would have liked one ECM , I also dont have the room for several units as I am in the process of modifying the fuel system and I need the space for the pumps and filter.

Thanks for the input guys.
FAF is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 11:17 AM
inappropriate
 
hesaves0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY/NJ/NC
Posts: 7,728
Posting Frequency
Images: 67
           
Send a message via AIM to hesaves0211
ahha cool. thanks. how much to those puppies run well over a grand i assume?

1ST GEN-10R 234hp/[email protected], GT2871RS, cometic gasket, tial bov/ex wastegate, BEGI FMU, WALBRO fuel pump,falicon clutch basket,race pak clutch,200/50 pilot,yana-shiki levers,.net wristband, WEGO III,PC3,GPR damper,cbr cals/Galfer SS brake lines,gp shift,1/5 throttle, 2NDARIES REMOVED <<click for how-to, *R.I.P D.J 10 Apr 04*
hesaves0211 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
FAF
Rent this space
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,590
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by hesaves0211 View Post
ahha cool. thanks. how much to those puppies run well over a grand i assume?
near enough with all the cables required.
FAF is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 07-19-2007, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
FAF
Rent this space
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,590
Posting Frequency
Images: 8
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkkninja View Post
My ZX10R already have the Lambda as standard! Currently removed and fitted lambda eliminators. To stop the FI light tripping. If you are using an ECU for race track purposes. U do not need the Lambda sensors. Unless your bike will be subject to CO2 testing.....
I guess the stock ECU Lambda control would be out of range with a PC connected and thats why it throws the light ?

Thats why I wondered wether the Race ECU had programmable Lambda control , guess not...bummer. but for race purposes I would want it closed loop control , I have my reasons.
FAF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for 06 penske 8981 two-way owners green_zx Performance and Tech 5 07-09-2007 07:42 AM
Question For Zx-10r 06 owners Skip114 The ZX-10R 12 12-14-2006 05:27 AM
question for S-10 owners Nick.INF The Out House 17 04-08-2006 11:09 AM
Paging LeoVince owners-have question? steves87 The ZX-10R 9 05-13-2005 08:57 AM
Hello everyone, question for ZX10 owners The Humungus The ZX-10R 28 08-07-2004 10:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome