Gen 1: 2004-2005 Power Commander Not Connected??? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 08:58 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Savage05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
Posting Frequency
Images: 7
 
Power Commander Not Connected???

I have my PCIII USB plugged into py computer but the Dynojet software isn't recognizing it. I tried rebooting my computer, which has Windows 7. The PC has power through the 9v adapter. I've also tried starting the bike but it still doesn't read the PC. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Savage05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 09:24 AM
GP Star
 
Quick10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,152
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
           
You don't have the USB plugged in all the way on the PC III...It is very firm to plug it in

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjeR View Post
I'm glad I'm a stripper, the money keeps coming in! lol
Quick10 is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Savage05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
Posting Frequency
Images: 7
 
Its definitely in all the way. I pushed it in very firmly until it clicked.
Savage05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 10:33 AM
Slow Poke
 
bgmagma10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tulsa ok
Posts: 5,584
Posting Frequency
Images: 10
           
Try a different USB port on your computer. Make sure when you plug it in on the bottom it says installing new device


Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app
bgmagma10 is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 10:53 AM
Champion Rider
 
ZX10Rip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hyde Park, New York, USA
Posts: 467
Posting Frequency
 
Do you have the ignition turned on or the 9 volt battery pluged in to pwoer the Power Commander?
ZX10Rip is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 11:11 AM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,532
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmagma10 View Post
Try a different USB port on your computer. Make sure when you plug it in on the bottom it says installing new device


Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app
Try this first. When switching ports, the USB driver should update.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Savage05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
Posting Frequency
Images: 7
 
I tried all 3 USB ports. I tried using the 9v, I tried it with the ignition on, and I tried it with both... Nothing. I just bought a new cable so I'm going to try that next.
Savage05 is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 11:26 AM
GP Star
 
nakedinseattle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,665
Posting Frequency
       
is the bike on? the bike has to be on, as in idling. do your usb ports work for other usb plug ins? when you turn your bike on, look at the power commander, does the light come on and when you rev it up and down does the little bar lights on the side move up and down with it?
nakedinseattle is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 01:03 PM
Post Whore
 
-Op-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,028
Posting Frequency
          
unless the bike is running or a 9V is connected it wont read it. When you turn the key on though, there is a moment where it powers it. Watch for the a green light bar on the PC to see that it powers up. Only things are make sure that cable is pushed well into the PC otherwise it wont read. Open the PC software and it should come up.

08 ZX6R Radial M/C ZG Sport Touring Windscreen CBR600RR Calipers BMC Street Filter
GP Shift Pattern DIY Mod Fender Eliminator Kit 16/44 Gearing Euro Flushmount Signals
Gauge Cluster Color DIY ModSoupy's Fully Adjustable Lowering Links HEL Stainless Steel Braided Brake Lines
-Op- is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 09-13-2012, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Savage05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
Posting Frequency
Images: 7
 
Windows just isn't recognizing that I'm plugging in a USB.
Savage05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gen 1: WTB: Power Commander cuta31 Wanted: Buy or Trade 6 04-17-2011 06:37 PM
? about trimming plate connected to swingarm tegedrex The ZX-10R 7 03-16-2009 05:32 PM
2 cables connected to mid-pipe EbonyZX10R Performance and Tech 16 06-01-2008 07:11 AM
Rear seat cable not connected sewman The Out House 3 03-30-2007 03:46 PM
Power Commander 10R Performance and Tech 8 02-19-2006 04:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome