Power Commander III - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 05-08-2007, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 194
Posting Frequency
 
Power Commander III

Can someone explain the ins and outs of fine tuning the Power Commander as in enrichening and leanin out the map. I wanted to make a few adjustments but I wanted to know is there a feature that will not allow you to say lean it out too much? What is the safest way to make the adjustments?

Euro lights, Zero Gravity DB,Micron High Mount Slip,Power Commander w/ Ignition Module,TRE, Ivan Block Off Plates,Geelong CarbonTank Shield,Rev Light Led,Scotts Damper,Pit Bull Spools, Yoyodyne Sliders,Gilles Rearsets,Pazzo Levers,Speedohealer, 16t CS,Powerbronze Hugger,Factory Pro Velocity Stacks.
zixxer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-08-2007, 11:22 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,455
Posting Frequency
    
dyno w/ AF readings.
NYC_ZX10 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-08-2007, 11:46 AM
Track Day Rider
 
Twrecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 193
Posting Frequency
 
I'm getting ready to install my PC3 soon. Got Dyno time lined up next week.
If you can't dyno, then use the provided maps, one will prolly fit your set up. If you don't like the results, try another.

Smoke'em if u got'em (tires)
Twrecks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 06:50 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 194
Posting Frequency
 
I already have a map that Ivan installed into the pc but I was looking at the map and wanted to lean it out in certain areas without doing any harm. Ivan's lshop is at a higher elevation then where I live I wanted to see if there was any tweeks to the map because of it. I don't want to spend more money on a custom map if there is nothing to be gained. Just asking how you can use the settings on the Power Commander. Any one who can expalin how to make small adjustments to the PC?

Euro lights, Zero Gravity DB,Micron High Mount Slip,Power Commander w/ Ignition Module,TRE, Ivan Block Off Plates,Geelong CarbonTank Shield,Rev Light Led,Scotts Damper,Pit Bull Spools, Yoyodyne Sliders,Gilles Rearsets,Pazzo Levers,Speedohealer, 16t CS,Powerbronze Hugger,Factory Pro Velocity Stacks.
zixxer is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 07:21 AM
Champion Rider
 
fatcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 373
Posting Frequency
  
If you hold the 3 bottons on the PC then start the bike you can got throught and adjust the fuel in each power section.It gives you each rpm range 0-3000,3000-6000,and 6000+. I leaned out the first 6k rpms for better gas milage during rides but it can easly change it back by just re-doing the 3 botton thing. Im pretty sure it still uses the same map that is loaded too. If you need more info you can try and read the instructions( Who really reads those things anyways?)
fatcalvin is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 07:41 AM
GP Star
 
pongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 3,118
Posting Frequency
         
Quote:
Originally Posted by zixxer View Post
I already have a map that Ivan installed into the pc but I was looking at the map and wanted to lean it out in certain areas without doing any harm. Ivan's lshop is at a higher elevation then where I live I wanted to see if there was any tweeks to the map because of it. I don't want to spend more money on a custom map if there is nothing to be gained. Just asking how you can use the settings on the Power Commander. Any one who can expalin how to make small adjustments to the PC?
whats the difference in elevation...becareful with your adjustments...without a dyno you might end up chasing your tail all day without making it any better...good luck...
pongo is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 12:03 PM
Post Whore
 
1killer1liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In front of you!
Posts: 5,228
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
       
If Ivan is at a higher elevation, you'll want to fatten (rich) it up, not lean it out. There is less air at higher elevations which requires less fuel to run properly.


I live my life a quarter-pounder at a time. And for those 500 calories or more, im free. I need FRIESSSS! Two of them. The big ones. Oh, and I need them tonight. You're lucky the double shot of BBQ sauce didnt blow a seam on your nugget box.
1killer1liter is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 08:22 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,830
Posting Frequency
   
Plug your PCIII into a computer. Click upload map.....observe the grid that shows up and increase the number in the throttle % and rpm areas you desire. Larger number richer, smaller...leaner.
06450F is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-06-2007, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 39
Posting Frequency
 
Don't forget that the bike has to be running or the 9v battery has to be connected to the PCIII before the PC will "see" the PCIII :)
bmxr is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-08-2007, 12:27 PM
WSB Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sainte Anne de Bellevue
Posts: 836
Posting Frequency
 
Pc Iii

Help

I loaded I think the map on dynojet : Akrapovic race system with K&N air filter.

The first set of butterfly put out because they're just there to make restriction AWY.

So the Mofo run too rich at lower RPM balck smoke.



Another thing who don't go right it's the (TPS I think not sure) The little motor who open the fist set of butterfly who don't do it's job properly, that's why i put out the first set of butterfly The thing don't open it completely.

So what's the 3 button thing ?????
I pushed it all in the same time, need a computer hooked to the PC III doing that ???

After i pushed the 3 button could I make some adjustement manually ???

ninja_12r2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who needs a Power Commander ???? Goatozaki The ZX-10R 20 06-20-2007 06:28 PM
Power Commander 33615 Performance and Tech 4 03-21-2007 11:55 PM
Please help, power commander dhobbs74 Performance and Tech 16 02-17-2007 06:14 PM
power commander scalpelman Performance and Tech 1 07-26-2006 07:41 PM
Power Commander III RobinT Performance and Tech 1 08-18-2004 07:02 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome