Not Another Lowering Thread... - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 08-09-2007, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Gun Owning Republican

Posting Frequency

Send a message via MSN to Ervins
Not Another Lowering Thread...

I am new here...Today I dropped a deposit on a brand new black 2006 ZX-10R. It will be my 3rd bike and I have a little over 3 years of riding experience. My first bike was the red 2003 - 636 below and my last one which I sold a month and half ago is a 2003 CBR 600rr. I lowered both those bikes and they handled very well. However, now I move up a class and need to research and get info ASAP. I am 5'7".

Each of my previous two bikes were lowered. 636 was 1.25 inches in the rear and the 600rr was 1 inch...The front were dropped equally (except the 636 due to the forks where is was about 1 inch). Either way, it was nice to flat foot and lets just say I handled my rides very well through my commute to work, twisties, and track. I'm a safe 36 year old in addition to that.

My question is (I have looked up all the lowering threads btw) what do you all think of me lowering the bike 1.25 inches in the rear and likewise in the front. Will it be good, bad, negligible, etc. I have the lowering link and want to get it done by the time I pick the bike up next Wednesday (I have already arranged to get the stand chopped and welded).

Any help in feedback would be appreciated as I know a few of you have lowered your rides. Thank you in advance!

2006 ZX-10R SOLD, 2005 KX250F, and 2007 YZ85
and a Ton of Guns
I will never own a Honda again.

www.ema-usa.com
Motorcycle Parts and Accessories
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 08-09-2007, 04:15 PM

Posting Frequency

it totally depends on what you are going to use your bike for. I drag race so lowering and strapping is a must. I dont run the strap on the street though, just at the track. Twisties are still ok, but not as good as when it was at stock height. Good Luck