Need help! - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
Need help!

Ok so I installed the PC III.Bike ran like shit with the programe it came with.Real low on power.I installed BD's map.Bike runs very hard but is real real twitchy! Pretty much un ridable.
The only mod I have for engine performance is a slip on Akro cut down 3.25 of an inch.Everything else is stock.Power comander doesnt have a map for a california bike with just an Akro slip on.Can I use the euro map?
I will get a custom map done.The shop near me dyno is down waiting for someone to come and set it up.So unless someone else in the area knows of a dyno I am stuck.I am located in the Sac area I do not want to pull the bike apart and pull the PC III out.
I also installed the 1/5 throttle conversion.Could this be part of my twitchy ness?
Thanks
jstwkd1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 02:12 AM
GP Rider
 
sneaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,486
Posting Frequency
  
Yes the 1/5 and the fact that you may have a bad map (not that BD's map is bad, but bad for your application) could all be causing tyou to have a twichy throttle.

You can use a "0" map from powercommander, should be on the disc that came with your PCIII. Upload it and see how the bike feels with just the "0" map in it, if it still the same then go over your install and make sure all connection are right. Did you install a TRE with this?

I went into the map thread and got the version 3 and 4 of chris's map and also Ground Zeros map, so far GZ map seems ok, but I ahve yet to get on it. I got the Ivan map with my PCIII as I bought it from him, but it seems really rich for my location. I plan on hitting a dyno this weekend and seeing what the stock Ivan map, GZ map, and chris maps do on my local dyno.

In the end I know I may need a custom as well.
sneaky is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 03:02 AM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
I dont think BD's map is bad.Just not for my application. He had the closest to the same mods as I could tell.But he is running a TRE and No I am not.
Thanks
I do have the "0" map but bike was way down on power with that in it. I did see a "0" map and a stock map on the PC III website.Just wondering what to use for know.
Thanks
jstwkd1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 04:37 AM
I really need to get out of the house
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34,537
Posting Frequency
Images: 38
           
I do not have a TRE, never installed it. Just this week i have been in touch with a place in Rohnert Park thats going to do some A/F tweeks to my current map on May 22nd so when i get finished i suspect it shall be much improved over my current map but time will tell.

BTW i too feel a certain glitch in the lower rpm's when cruzin steady state throttle so perhaps its not just your bike runnin weird with this map.

BD




Those who stir the shit pot should have to lick the spoon.
Big Daddy is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
Thanks BD.................Rohnert park!
I must be lazy I am closer to Rohnert Park than you. And I dont want to take it that far........lol Whats the shop called? I grew up in R.P.
For some reason I thought you had a TRE installed.
jstwkd1 is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
So - # richens fuel and + # leans it out?
Is this right?
jstwkd1 is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 12:33 PM
GP Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: santa cruz , ca
Posts: 1,177
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy
I do not have a TRE, never installed it. Just this week i have been in touch with a place in Rohnert Park thats going to do some A/F tweeks to my current map on May 22nd so when i get finished i suspect it shall be much improved over my current map but time will tell.

BTW i too feel a certain glitch in the lower rpm's when cruzin steady state throttle so perhaps its not just your bike runnin weird with this map.

BD
who in rhonert park???
i'm visiting there, on the bike, in a couple weeks...just curious, really. my bro lives in santa rosa and has a bike too...

BTW Bill Rhonert , a man with a dream, a park in every section of town...all the streets start with the same letter in each section too...
latdrop is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by latdrop
who in rhonert park???
i'm visiting there, on the bike, in a couple weeks...just curious, really. my bro lives in santa rosa and has a bike too...

BTW Bill Rhonert , a man with a dream, a park in every section of town...all the streets start with the same letter in each section too...
LOL...That is correct.Easy to get around in that town.
jstwkd1 is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 01:02 PM
Post Whore
 
1killer1liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In front of you!
Posts: 5,228
Posting Frequency
Images: 11
       
I think its your 1/5 throttle. Mine is extremely touchy, but I like it. Does your throttle return fast and crisp or slow and lazy?


I live my life a quarter-pounder at a time. And for those 500 calories or more, im free. I need FRIESSSS! Two of them. The big ones. Oh, and I need them tonight. You're lucky the double shot of BBQ sauce didnt blow a seam on your nugget box.
1killer1liter is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 04-21-2006, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
GP Star
 
jstwkd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,419
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
           
Fast and crisp. Its even uncomfortable on a straight.Just real jerky. I can not get it smooth with thorrtle control.
jstwkd1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome