My OEM horn trigger and my aftermarket horn - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 04-08-2009, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,730
Posting Frequency
     
My OEM horn trigger and my aftermarket horn

So I originally attempted to hook this up about a year ago with no luck, so I gave up.

Well I got a new roommate and coincidentally he is an electrical engineer, and he has all the tools I need to do some electrical investigation.

Basically what we found out is that the circuit that runs from the +12v from the battery to the OEM trigger is good, but after going through the OEM trigger's circuit the voltage is degraded to 5.5 MILLIVOLTS!

My question is how can i fix this? I don't want to install another switch, because I would really like to use my OEM trigger, but how I replace/upgrade the cables and/or the trigger itself?
russell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-08-2009, 10:24 PM
Squid
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 31
Posting Frequency
 
the connection at the stock horn - use that to power the coil on the relay.
if the stock horn doesn't work you have problems....
cdk83 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-08-2009, 10:41 PM
GP Star
 
nickalltogether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 2,137
Posting Frequency
    
you can use the output from the horn to trigger a relay for the new horn :)
nickalltogether is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 04-09-2009, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,730
Posting Frequency
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickalltogether View Post
you can use the output from the horn to trigger a relay for the new horn :)
right. that's what i'm trying to say. the output of the stock horn is 5.5 millivolts. it needs 12 volts.
russell is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-10-2009, 07:01 PM
WSB Rider
 
lenshead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 792
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
 
Sorry to state the obvious, but have you checked your fuses????
lenshead is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-10-2009, 07:04 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 801
Posting Frequency
  
Wouldn't your friend know the answer to this if he is an electrical engineer
killersrt is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-11-2009, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,730
Posting Frequency
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by lenshead View Post
Sorry to state the obvious, but have you checked your fuses????
well we checked the resistance and when the circuit is completed it goes from infinite ohms to 0 ohms, which means a circuit is completed. which means that the fuse must be in tact.
russell is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-11-2009, 03:22 AM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,730
Posting Frequency
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by killersrt View Post
Wouldn't your friend know the answer to this if he is an electrical engineer
i would like to think so, but he's not familiar on how to replace or repair the horn-switch circuitry on the 2005 zx-6r
russell is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-11-2009, 12:58 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 209
Posting Frequency
  
the 5.5mV you are reading is nothing, meaning without a doubt you have a faulty horn switch... i doubt it's to hard to fix though, strip it down and clean it up and all should be well

i fitted a nautilus horn other day, you have to use a relay as the stock horn is only a few amps and the nautilus is something like 18amps @ 12v, so without a relay you will cook your horn button

i pulled out stock horn and ran wires from that to the relay coil. then the switched contacts on relay powered up horn with a direct feed from battery via a 20a inline fuse.

nautilus should come with a relay, well mine did :)
Fluke is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-11-2009, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,730
Posting Frequency
     
yeah my nautilus came with a relay.

i'm just going to re-run and re-solder the cables for the horn with 14g wire. hopefully that will do it.
russell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horn Upgrade Wheeltrax The ZX-10R 9 01-18-2009 02:52 PM
Horn Doesn't Work JP636 Performance and Tech 4 11-25-2008 06:10 PM
Car horn mod. LOUDER THAN MY CAR 06Neenja Performance and Tech 20 05-23-2008 09:19 PM
Horn upgrade Bradlee_T Pictures and Videos 8 10-26-2007 07:17 AM
Now I've got the horn.... Goatozaki Pictures and Videos 15 09-17-2004 02:26 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome