Mounting wideband sensor? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Mounting wideband sensor?

I tried searching and no luck. I am looking for the best location to mount the wideband sensor on my 07 ZX-10. Obviously the best answer is to follow the manufacturers recommendation but lets be honest, I am going to have to bend those rules a little here.

I dont want to cut any fairing at all costs! If I have to and if I think its worth it, I will but I think this should be managable without doing it and get a good reading.

Where is everyone mounting theres?

I took some pics and a description. Let me know what you think is the best. Need to weld this bung up ASAP and get tuning!

First here is the decat pipe I bought. It looks to have 2 12mm O2 bungs (dont know why they are there) but the daytona sensor is an 18mm size. I was thinking of grinding the left side off and installing the 18mm bung there but doing this will only read 2 cylinders. But this hides the sensor really nice and snug in there out of view.







Next option is to install the bung somewhere on the decat pipe. Here are some sample on where to put it. Im not liking the idea of sensor sticking out to side of bike.




Next I could but the bung on the head flange itself but doing so again will only read 2 cylinders and I would prefer to weld bung onto the decat pipe over the header...




Next is I could put the bung after it mixes after the decat pipe but then that would be far back away from the motor and it would be after the butterfly valve... I dont know how accurate that would be. And again, issue with sensor sticking out the side of the bike





Obviously prime location is when the 2 pipes mix but I am willing to sacrafice some by putting up front closer reading only 2 cylinders. After all, its a fuel injected bike, not carbd. I am going to be honest... Im liking the fact of only reading 2 cylinders and just tune off 2.

Obviously a dual sensor would be ideal but Im not trying to get to involved like that. I have simple bolt ons just looking to tune with a PC rather than tune on a dyno.

Please keep this discussion about placement of O2 bung and what others have done. Thank you.

Last edited by kkline_83; 02-11-2011 at 04:27 PM.
kkline_83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Well I decided to just dive right in and go for it tonight...

Going with option 1.




kkline_83 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 07:31 PM
WSB Rider
 
holeshot34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 620
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
  
Are you going to be able to get an air tight weld by the flange? Looks really close.
holeshot34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by holeshot34 View Post
Are you going to be able to get an air tight weld by the flange? Looks really close.
Yes. Its already been mocked up. I did a quick tack weld to hold in place and I bolted it in place, no issues. Serious oil pan clearance issues which is why I had to get it as straight forward as I could at an angle or it wouldnt clear oil pan.

I am not going to weld it just yet as the daytona sensor hasnt arrived yet. When it gets here, I will do a quick mock up and make sure no issues then weld it. I am using a stock O2 sensor for now haha
kkline_83 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 07:47 PM
WSB Rider
 
holeshot34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 620
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
  
The welder I had do mine said it was too close to the flange to get a good weld, so I moved it to the position like you had in the last pic on the first post. Can't really see it unless you get down and look.
holeshot34 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-11-2011, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Ahhhh I see what you mean. I will mock it up tomorrow on the bike and angle it as much as I can to the oil pan and see what I can get for access. I was just going to weld it on inside too to make sure its sealed but I see what your saying.
kkline_83 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-12-2011, 05:57 PM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 477
Posting Frequency
 
there must be a very good reason why akrapovic put there extra port in the single pipe section on there system's..............
krakers10r is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-12-2011, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakers10r View Post
there must be a very good reason why akrapovic put there extra port in the single pipe section on there system's..............
Oh yeah? And whys that? Are you just guessing or do you know what your talking about?

Regardless, the stock cat doesnt have the fittings so "Kawi must not of put them there for a very good reason"

I bought the decat pipe for 1 reason and one reason only. Whatever other intentions the pipe is made for, is not the route I am going.
kkline_83 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-20-2011, 05:31 AM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 477
Posting Frequency
 
so it reads all the gasses in one section of pipe,kawasaki put one in each pipe for the same reason too read two cylinders each..your not going to get a accurate reading as you are only seeing the gases from two cylinders...
krakers10r is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-20-2011, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 163
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakers10r View Post
so it reads all the gasses in one section of pipe,kawasaki put one in each pipe for the same reason too read two cylinders each..your not going to get a accurate reading as you are only seeing the gases from two cylinders...
Kawi NEVER put any sensors there to begin with so what are you talking about? The readings are going to be more accurate reading 2 than reading 4. I do not wish to explain myself to you because clearly your talking out of your ass.

Sign off the forum or learn to give advice only when you know what your talking about.
kkline_83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wideband? zx-sik-r Performance and Tech 50 12-18-2011 06:43 PM
Who has a Dynojet Wideband sensor they will rent me? workin2hard The ZX-10R 6 08-02-2010 12:42 AM
wtb wideband pc and o2 sensor hesaves0211 Wanted: Buy or Trade 9 06-11-2008 10:21 PM
Tip Over Sensor ( Vehicle Down Sensor) Papo-T Performance and Tech 1 06-02-2008 08:12 AM
Wideband- bigbadninja Performance and Tech 6 07-09-2007 03:02 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome