mechanics help.... - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
I really need to get out of the house
 
red636girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: on my bike..... : )
Posts: 13,309
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
           
mechanics help....

Had to change two fuses in my bike from 10amps to 15 amps, one was the marker/brake lite fuse and the other was the head lite fuse. Fuses kept blowin only on 10amps.

So if it were your bike would you be concerned?

Just scared Im goin to screw up my wiring in my bike.

Thanks



Silly boys ninjas are for GIRLS
red636girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:03 AM
Champion Rider
 
firedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Yuma AZ
Posts: 308
Posting Frequency
  
Do not put bigger fuses in. You can burn wires like that. You have a wire or two with a short or a bad connection. This causes heat and resistance which blows the fuse. Trace these two systems down and really carefully check the wires and connections or take it in. Good luck.
firedude is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:03 AM
Squid
 
10RNOOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 43
Posting Frequency
 
Something is causing excess current draw on those lines. Its probably not a good thing to leave alone. Might want to check over your wires and connectors. I have not experienced this on my bike personally, so I'll wait for others to chime in with more details. But definitely something to be concerned about.
10RNOOB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:22 AM
Champion Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 410
Posting Frequency
  
Even a high load circuit like the headlamp should be drawing less than 5 amps or so....I don't see any way that a properly functioning bike should be blowing 10 amp fuses. unless you have heated gloves, auxilliary 60w PIAA headlights, gps, and air horns all running on the same circuit, 10 amps should be enough.

I'd start looking for an intermittant short. They're hard to find...a good wiggle test will sometimes fix it forever.

---------------------------------------------------
If it aint broken, it doesn't have enough features yet
---------------------------------------------------
There are 'glass half empty' people, and 'glass half full' people. Then there are engineers who see that the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.
Chubbs is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:23 AM Thread Starter
I really need to get out of the house
 
red636girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: on my bike..... : )
Posts: 13,309
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
           
But the thing is, I have never had a issue with the fuses blowin until i put these new bulbs in, that are brighter, and when I put the stock bulbs back in she doesnt blow so you still think there is a short somewhere in the wires?



Silly boys ninjas are for GIRLS

Last edited by red636girl; 12-02-2009 at 09:25 AM.
red636girl is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
I really need to get out of the house
 
red636girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: on my bike..... : )
Posts: 13,309
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chubbs View Post
Even a high load circuit like the headlamp should be drawing less than 5 amps or so....I don't see any way that a properly functioning bike should be blowing 10 amp fuses. unless you have heated gloves, auxilliary 60w PIAA headlights, gps, and air horns all running on the same circuit, 10 amps should be enough.

I'd start looking for an intermittant short. They're hard to find...a good wiggle test will sometimes fix it forever.

The only other thing i have on her is a gear indicator and Im not really sure where that wire goes into



Silly boys ninjas are for GIRLS
red636girl is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:32 AM
GP Rider
 
diesel10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mass
Posts: 1,284
Posting Frequency
    
Garage
i'd double check all the bulbs to be sure they are correct,then check your wires/terminals at the connectors,may have pinched together when replacing bulbs(grabbing marker connectors w/pliers,ect.), also never up the amps...very dangerous...like stated only a short will blow a fuse...so retrace your steps......don't need to fine pile of ash instead of your bike good luck
Dan

ride or die!::weed :
diesel10R is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 09:57 AM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
Are you sure you got the right bulbs? It's not blowing with the 15A fuses but is with the 10A? If it is a short I would think that the 15A would blow as well...although it's possible it wouldn't. And you also stated that when you put the stock back in and the 10A fuse in they don't blow then either. I'd check the ratings on the bulbs just to be safe. That would be the easiest and quickest fix...if it's right then start looking for a short or other cause.

"You can't trust anyone, not even your own asshole; sometimes you think you're gonna fart and you sh*t."

Last edited by themightymezzo; 12-02-2009 at 10:07 AM.
themightymezzo is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 10:04 AM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel10R View Post
like stated only a short will blow a fuse...
Dan
I may be mistaken but I believe overloading a fuse will blow it as well.

If you have a device that uses normally 10A, you want to install a larger fuse then that so you would install a 15A. However if you wanted to "beef up" said device to something that will use 20A you will burn/blow the fuse. But generally if you design a system that will run normally 10A and protect it with a 15A fuse, you will not size wires, etc. for the larger current/demand across that line. Which is why it's not a good idea to increase fuse size as previously stated in this thread.

"You can't trust anyone, not even your own asshole; sometimes you think you're gonna fart and you sh*t."
themightymezzo is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 12-02-2009, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
I really need to get out of the house
 
red636girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: on my bike..... : )
Posts: 13,309
Posting Frequency
Images: 5
           
Im not sure what you mean the right bulbs....they are the right number H9 and H11, and others have order the same bulbs from this company and had no issues with there bike, the package says xenon Gas charged bulbs, 6000k. i got them from Star Lights

and yes when I put the 10amp back in with the stock bulbs no problems. Thats why I think it the bulbs, cause never had an issue and still dont until i put these new bulbs in.



Silly boys ninjas are for GIRLS
red636girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
? for our auto mechanics wicked The Out House 20 10-04-2009 11:56 AM
A&P Mechanics.... Nick.INF The Out House 9 05-15-2009 06:22 PM
Any mechanics in the house? srleadjb Performance and Tech 16 10-22-2008 05:50 PM
Car mechanics please help! mjg68901 The Out House 20 03-17-2008 11:08 PM
Any mechanics on here? BrockLanders The Out House 8 02-12-2008 10:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome