Gen 1: 2004-2005 Limp Mode 8K RPM - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 07-07-2014, 08:05 AM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
Wallpapereater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 93
Posting Frequency
 
Limp Mode 8K RPM

I got the bike together and she is running great... to about 8k RPM.

When I get to about 8K or so she goes into limp mode.

It almost feels like leaving the choke on, on an old carb'ed bike. Bogs out.

I read up and it looks like it could be a few things.

I just went out side and it revved up to red line in neutral. (Fire shot out of the exhaust. It was awesome!)

I'm thinking it is Neutral sensor.

I'll check it out later today when I repaint my tank white.

Will update with pics later.

Last edited by Wallpapereater; 07-07-2014 at 08:15 AM.
Wallpapereater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-09-2014, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
Wallpapereater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 93
Posting Frequency
 
So my bike is in limp mode and I'm throwing a FI light code 32.

I'm thinking the easiest way to fix the problem would be to buy a new set of throttle bodies and swap out the old ones.

Would this be a good route to go? http://www.ebay.com/itm/2004-2005-Kawasaki-Ninja-ZX10-ZX10R-Throttle-Bodies-Injectors-Carbs-Fuel-A156-/301233346479?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash =item4622e817af&vxp=mtr
Wallpapereater is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-13-2014, 10:14 AM
Champion Rider
 
horsePOOGAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 308
Posting Frequency
 
why do you need to replace the whole throttle body assembly? Why not just start with the sensors on the set you have and replace them?
horsePOOGAS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 01:36 PM
GP Star
 
keithk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Elkhart Indiana
Posts: 4,480
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
      
so,..... what happened?

Its green and it says Kawasaki ninja zx10r on it!
keithk is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 03:07 PM
Newfie Bullet
 
craig_sez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sackville,Novascotia
Posts: 2,341
Posting Frequency
Images: 34
    
Garage
On the gen 3,to replace the sensors you gotta split the #2 #3 tb to get at the lil sensor thingys...I started to do mine but stripped the heads on the tb flys...So i ended up finding an almost new set of tb on ebay..

Team green,Bleed green,RIDE GREEN!!

Brembo m/c,Nassert Beet,HEL lines,Pazzo levers,HID kit,custom monster paint scheme..Thanks to forum member horse for that..Woolich raceing kit,Elka rear shock and front fork pistons,Green samco coolant hose kit,Zero gravity dbbl smoked screen,520 conversion,attack rear sets,bmc race air filter,Monster zx6 front seat,moto graffix tank pad,feredo pads,galpher lite weight rear rotor.
craig_sez is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-21-2014, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Street Rider
 
Wallpapereater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 93
Posting Frequency
 
Got it!

The problem was with the PCIII. It must have lost it's map or something. I disconnected it and am running stock ECU. I took it out for a ride and I just got to say....

HOLY SHIT!!!!

I can't believe people put turbos on this bike.

I've had 4 bikes before this one and this thing is stomach-dropping... ball tingling.. mind-numbing.. holy SHIT! Fast!!

Jesus... I've never felt torque like that before.
Wallpapereater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700hp shelby vs gix 750 , 2012 zx10r in 1k mode, 2012 zx10r in 600 mode whans1980 Pictures and Videos 34 09-12-2013 01:50 PM
Limp mode ?????? cow10r The ZX-10R 2 01-22-2011 10:15 PM
new mode on my GREEN.... Tomsa Pictures and Videos 19 03-26-2009 02:01 AM
Will ECU go into a limp mode if sceondary actuator is un plugged? garth285 Performance and Tech 12 06-04-2007 09:08 PM
Depeche Mode finally cain772 The Out House 12 09-20-2005 08:51 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome