Gen 4: 2011-2015 How to bypass speed sensors (kit ecu) - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 06:14 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Posting Frequency
 
How to bypass speed sensors (kit ecu)

Hello, i need input from the experts.
I have a gen4 in a race car. I have the race kit ecu and harness. We are not aloved to use wheel speed sensors, so I need to bypass them. I have unplugged them, but I get error code 24 and 27 and the meter is flashing while I'm driving on track.

I have tried to have them in aswell, but I get the same error messages as they do not get the input as expected.

Any suggestions how to fix this?
sunbernt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 06:17 AM
Gen2 Ripper
 
neverendingmods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The First State
Posts: 4,867
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
         
Will likely need to send ecu to to guhl to have codes turned off inside it. Plus they can do a lot more for you too to make 20hp more.
neverendingmods is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 06:19 AM
Gen2 Ripper
 
neverendingmods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The First State
Posts: 4,867
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
         
Woops. Not sure about kit ecu but should be in there. You have the tuning cable and software?
neverendingmods is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 09:15 AM
Champion Rider
 
tampazx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 350
Posting Frequency
 
Pictures!!!!
tampazx is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 10:15 AM
GP Rider
 
dsabat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,483
Posting Frequency
     
First, I'd call Don Guhl - 717 618 4212. No flashing, no sensors. But he may not be able to do this immediately, I doubt he has encountered this need before. But he might, I don't know, call him.

Or, ignore the flashing dash. You'll get used to it.

Or, try to convince the race officials that you will not use traction control. Leave your sensors in place. Turn traction control off every time you start the car.

And: post pics please. Is this an open wheel, asphalt car? What weight?

Dean
dsabat is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neverendingmods View Post
Woops. Not sure about kit ecu but should be in there. You have the tuning cable and software?
I have the software and tuning cable, but can't find a setting in the software to disable the sensors.

I will upload pictures later, do not have them here atm.
sunbernt is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 01:08 PM
GP Star
 
Shift_Nashville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,653
Posting Frequency
      
Pics or it doesn't exist...

Sounds awesome, we're all waiting!
Shift_Nashville is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsabat View Post
First, I'd call Don Guhl - 717 618 4212. No flashing, no sensors. But he may not be able to do this immediately, I doubt he has encountered this need before. But he might, I don't know, call him.

Or, ignore the flashing dash. You'll get used to it.

Or, try to convince the race officials that you will not use traction control. Leave your sensors in place. Turn traction control off every time you start the car.

And: post pics please. Is this an open wheel, asphalt car? What weight?

Dean
Not sure if guhl knows the kit ecu, but it might be worth a try. I am consirdering putting them both on the rear axl so they read the same. That would take out the tracking control.... But I rather bypass them, so I do not have to take care of them anymore.

The car is for track racing and rally cross. Have a look at www.shortcar.com.
sunbernt is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 04:35 PM
GP Star
 
Shift_Nashville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,653
Posting Frequency
      
Wow, that's frickin awesome! How much does one of those cost to build?
Shift_Nashville is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-17-2012, 04:45 PM
WSB Rider
 
Btrain87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 790
Posting Frequency
  
sounds awesome! pics!
Btrain87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
04 ZX 10 tip over sensor Bypass Willie Lee II Performance and Tech 5 12-01-2011 10:44 PM
How do i bypass kickstand switch ? STREETLEVEL The ZX-10R 18 11-07-2010 10:24 AM
KISS ignition bypass bostromus The ZX-10R 2 06-07-2010 06:30 PM
How can I bypass the Tip / Vehicle Down Sensor imdrax Welcome Newbies! 1 05-03-2010 08:35 AM
zx-10r ignition bypass how to? brandon1566 Performance and Tech 10 10-04-2009 01:33 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome