HID's quit working - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 08-06-2006, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central iowa
Posts: 1,113
Posting Frequency
 
HID's quit working

I installed some Purevision HIDs on my 10 about a month ago and they were great. On friday my buddy and I pulled up to a gas station and said "your headlight just went out about a block ago". We started checking the fuses, connections, etc and they just came back on. Went for a ride today and no low beam whatsoever. Again started checking fuses, connections, bulb, and nothing looked bad and nothing worked. When I got home I got the meter out and started tracing down the wires. I have power up to the low beam ballast but nothing coming out of it. The high beams work fine.

Has anyone had any problems like this? I've never had HIDs on anything before so I don't know what to look for. I e-mailed the e-bay store I bought them from but have heard nothing back yet.
speedfreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-06-2006, 09:11 PM
WSB Rider
 
colinmitchell111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Findlay Ohio
Posts: 735
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
 
Send a message via AIM to colinmitchell111
Yikes.. I have the same kit and no problems here. Hope you figure it out!
colinmitchell111 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-06-2006, 09:25 PM
GP Star
 
bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,166
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
        
Similar problem, I have power to the ballasts but nothing coming out to either high or low. Bought mine off e-bay too, guy sent me a new wiring harness to try but nothing. Would like to find someone who can look at the ballasts???
bonz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 08-06-2006, 11:12 PM
Champion Rider
 
zootzoot35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: VA
Posts: 255
Posting Frequency
 
Wtf?

I went with the Xetronic kit! No prob's so far! Do you have both lights with the hid set up! I only did one! While I was on the phone with XETRONIC,they did tell me that if I went with the low/high beam that I may need to get a larger fuse and a relay!
zootzoot35 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-06-2006, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
GP Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central iowa
Posts: 1,113
Posting Frequency
 
Yeah, I have both sides fused (30 amp) and a relay for each ballast. I wanted to be able to safely use my hi/low beams without overloading my wiring. Like I said fuses are fine and relays are working, so nothing wrong with the wiring.
speedfreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HID's ontada2 The ZX-10R 23 02-20-2007 10:57 AM
Just Installed HID's.. colinmitchell111 The ZX-10R 14 07-11-2006 09:39 PM
***quit Crashin People!!!*** hillcountry10r The ZX-10R 35 05-28-2006 02:25 AM
Where i got my HID's RickRoush03 The ZX-10R 1 11-23-2005 11:45 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome