Gen 3 Speedo erratic - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 04-25-2011, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider
 
fastburnzx-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ft.Hood TX
Posts: 681
Posting Frequency
  
Send a message via AIM to fastburnzx-10 Send a message via MSN to fastburnzx-10
Gen 3 Speedo erratic

Have a 08 zx10 got it from older guy and the speedo isnt registering. correct speed.. He told me that it wasnt the speedo healer but was wondering if anyone else has had this issue?
fastburnzx-10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-25-2011, 04:53 PM
REPOST Enforcement Mod
 
SkyDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 13,540
Posting Frequency
           
Garage
If you've already ruled out the Speedo Healer, then it's only 1 of 3 things: speed sensor, ECU, or instrument cluster. Cheapest and most probable culprit is the speed sensor.

I may not be perfect, but at least I don't ride a Suzuki.

Ridding the Internet of bad grammar, 1 post at a time.
#WordCrimes




SkyDork is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-25-2011, 05:00 PM
Late Apex
 
Solo-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 803
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastburnzx-10 View Post
Have a 08 zx10 got it from older guy and the speedo isnt registering. correct speed.. He told me that it wasnt the speedo healer but was wondering if anyone else has had this issue?
I would say its the Speed Sensor "FINAL ANSWER" . Instrument Cluster ..Its too new (Unless Your Dropping Wheelies from 10oClock) and the SpeedoHealer Well You ruled that out bt I would double check that ..

Just take your speed sensor off , inspect it for visual damage and iif none is apparent grab a used one off Ebay or borrow a friends to verify thats it.. there are ways to test that sensor but Im assuming your toool box doesnt contain the toools needed and reading devices as well as range its good for as far as load resistance and normal resistance... :headshake
Solo-Six is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 04-25-2011, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
WSB Rider
 
fastburnzx-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ft.Hood TX
Posts: 681
Posting Frequency
  
Send a message via AIM to fastburnzx-10 Send a message via MSN to fastburnzx-10
sounds good man. i have a multi meter.. but i wouldnt know the specs or anything.. Thanks for the info.. Whats the best way to double check the speedo healer
fastburnzx-10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erratic Speedo Readings pls Help Larry Grogan Performance and Tech 13 08-15-2010 09:25 PM
New 10r speedo on an 05? Scott10r Performance and Tech 5 09-30-2009 12:53 PM
speedo gsredhot01rt The ZX-10R 10 12-04-2006 12:15 AM
Erratic Speedometer Older Guy The ZX-10R 8 10-24-2005 12:40 AM
speedo gabe The ZX-10R 13 09-14-2005 02:56 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome