Front Sprocket too thin? - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
afskypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 290
Posting Frequency
 
Front Sprocket too thin?

Greetings,

I installed a new 16t front sprocket and noticed that the chain had some side-to-side play in it. Is this a problem? Thanks in advance for the help.
afskypilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 11:03 AM
GP Star
 
themightymezzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Posting Frequency
        
Did you get the right size chain/sprocket?
themightymezzo is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 12:21 PM
I really need to get out of the house
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34,537
Posting Frequency
Images: 38
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by afskypilot View Post
Greetings,

I installed a new 16t front sprocket and noticed that the chain had some side-to-side play in it. Is this a problem? Thanks in advance for the help.
it can be.

When a chain/sprocket setup is purchased they should be the same config, ie 520, 525, 530 etc but even then there is a minor amount of side-side play(perhaps 1-2mm) but lets say we have a 520 sprocket with a 530 chain the side -side play or the gap may be 5mm which is not recommended.

BD



Big Daddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 02:03 PM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
afskypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 290
Posting Frequency
 
I just purchased the sprocket alone...didn't think about the chain. The side-to-side is really not that much. I'll do some measuring and see how much there is. What is the danger limit? Also, do you know what the stock size chain is?
afskypilot is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 99
Posting Frequency
Images: 3
 
Stock is 530, you probably got the wrong sprocket.
Josip Z is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 03:20 PM
GP Star
 
silversv1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 2,524
Posting Frequency
Images: 44
          
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josip Z View Post
Stock is 530, you probably got the wrong sprocket.
:iamwithst stock is 525
silversv1k is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 01-16-2008, 03:21 PM
I really need to get out of the house
 
Big Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34,537
Posting Frequency
Images: 38
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josip Z View Post
Stock is 530, you probably got the wrong sprocket.

mmmmmm no the OEM sprockets & chain from 04 to present are the 525 variety and typically owners will either stay with that size or use a 520.

BD



Big Daddy is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 01-17-2008, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Champion Rider
 
afskypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 290
Posting Frequency
 
How much side-to-side is acceptable? What is the danger of having too much?
afskypilot is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 01-17-2008, 04:56 PM
GP Star
 
axo250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Titusville, FL.
Posts: 2,128
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
         
Send a message via AIM to axo250
Quote:
Originally Posted by afskypilot View Post
How much side-to-side is acceptable? What is the danger of having too much?
I'm not sure about limits but you shouldn't have but a smidgen. I'd say 2 millimeters or so. I'd take it back off and get a caliper to measure the width and then call the factory or look up to see the width on a 520 and 525 size sprocket. You definitely don't want to mix that with your chain size. If it is mixed up and you run it, you will wear your chain and sprocket out quicker plus risk breaking your chain after a while.
axo250 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 01-17-2008, 05:13 PM
GP Star
 
axo250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Titusville, FL.
Posts: 2,128
Posting Frequency
Images: 2
         
Send a message via AIM to axo250
http://www.gizmology.net/sprockets.htm

Here's a good site. Scroll down a bit and it tells the sprocket thickness...

For a 520: 0.227" = 5.9mm
For a 525: 0.284" = 7.2mm

Hope this helps!
axo250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front sprocket grim Vendor Deals 4 05-07-2007 11:21 AM
thin head gasket,race cams, adj cam sprocket? mysticZX10 Performance and Tech 29 11-04-2006 10:25 PM
Sprocket change + Thin gasket/Intake cam. Too much? CountDokoo Performance and Tech 19 09-22-2006 01:35 PM
16t Front Sprocket mattfr12 The ZX-10R 10 07-24-2006 10:04 AM
front sprocket nut camarolongtube Performance and Tech 8 05-04-2006 11:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome