Free DIY Quickshifter- need your help - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
ib2cool10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 238
Posting Frequency
  
Free DIY Quickshifter- need your help

I want to preface this by admitting it was not my idea, but I found it on another forum while searching. Here is the Idea- If you have a power commander, use a generic pull switch and 9v battery adapter to make your own quickshifter instead of dropping $260.

Here is the thing- I want to make sure the connections are correct, so if you have a quickshifter, take a look and confirm for me the position of the pins on the expansion port plug. Also, does this item come with software?

The how-to:
1. get a PC 9v adapter
2. cut off the 9v plug and de-pin the red plug and move it to the top row corner opposite the black plug. (this location is what i want to confirm) in photo one the old location is shown with the black arrow and the location of the wires on a real DJ Quickshifter should be those shown by the black arrows.
3. use a switch to activate the quick-shift- the second photo shows my proof-of-concept experiment using the brake light switch from a 1000RR. Due to space constraints I chose to try it backwards with the switch on the shift rod- it works great... and YES I am going to secure it better than with 3 zip-ties In the photo arrows point to the brake light switch and wires which go to the PC
4. connect the proper length of wire to reach your PC from the switch- it doesn't matter which color wire is which because all you need is continuity to activate the quick-shift.
5. find yourself the software to activate the quickshift function of the PC if it is needed...

Guys with a Quickshifter- chime in and help me finish this project!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3134.JPG
Views:	4457
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	124557   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3127.JPG
Views:	5192
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	124558  
ib2cool10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
ib2cool10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 238
Posting Frequency
  
Thanks alot!!!!

and here is a link to the software if anyone needs it- http://www.powercommander.com/downlo...KillEnable.zip
ib2cool10 is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 05:24 PM
GP Rider
 
tedg04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,359
Posting Frequency
  
Is this only an option for the second & third gen bikes? If I recall, doesn't the first gen use fuel cut where the other two require an ignition module and kill ignition instead.
tedg04 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 07:01 PM
GP Star
 
edouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 2,897
Posting Frequency
         
I don't think I would go this route but interesting none the less.

ib2cool10 let us know how this works out for you!
edouble is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 07:02 PM
GP Rider
 
tedg04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,359
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMavis View Post
Only 3rd gen needs IM module. 1,2 Gen do not.

1 & 2 nd Gen just need to hook up some sort of switch, download the shift enable software and have it.

Thats because 1st and 2nd gen have only primary injectors and the PC will cut fuel when the switch is activated completely killing the motor for a few milliseconds.

3rd Gen needs a IM module because the secondary injectors will still be firing fuel if only PC is used. When IM module is hooked up to 3rd gen, spark and fuel both are cut.
Aha. So this would work on a first gen. Same pins as a second gen?
tedg04 is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 07:09 PM
GP Rider
 
tedg04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,359
Posting Frequency
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMavis View Post

I dont like how the op has his switch mounted though. Kinda ugly. If you look at the switch in one of my pics above you see it has 2 metal nuts on it. You just fabricate a bracket for that and bolt it to water pump cover screw or something, hook the spring around the heim joint, adjust the switch with a VOM until it just trips when the shifter moves and it works as flawlessly as the dynojet sensor.

Dale Walker still sells these.
Do you have any pics of the mounting like that?
tedg04 is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 03-17-2010, 07:12 PM
Track Day Rider
 
Ergotomine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rainy Manchester. U.K.
Posts: 137
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ib2cool10 View Post
Thanks alot!!!!

and here is a link to the software if anyone needs it- http://www.powercommander.com/downlo...KillEnable.zip
Hmm will i ever get any rep for posting that link months ago ? :
Ergotomine is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 03-18-2010, 12:04 PM
GP Rider
 
tedg04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,359
Posting Frequency
  
Might have myself a weekend project. That is, until the fiancee decides to work on wedding planning.
tedg04 is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 03-18-2010, 03:56 PM Thread Starter
Track Day Rider
 
ib2cool10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 238
Posting Frequency
  
I am currently fabricating a bracket to hold the sensor... I just wanted to see if it would work the way it was mounted before-

I will post pictures when I finish making the bracket tomorrow.
ib2cool10 is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 03-18-2010, 05:44 PM
GP Rider
 
tedg04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,359
Posting Frequency
  
I ordered up a universal switch today. Won't be in until next week, and I won't have time to play around with it until the following weekend.
tedg04 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOW TO: DIY TRE for 08/09 SH4DY Performance and Tech 23 09-10-2012 08:52 PM
how to DIY HID?? cyberous Performance and Tech 16 05-15-2006 12:53 AM
DIY powedercoating Hendosaki The Out House 10 03-06-2006 01:48 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome