Fi flashing after dyno run - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 09:56 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 27
Posting Frequency
Images: 6
  
Fi flashing after dyno run

Got the bike back from the dyno center 2 days ago and as the dealer hands me the key's he informs me that my Fi light is blinking and that i should ignore it and that all zx10r's are doing it after they been fitted with a powercommander.

in my ears it sounds like a bunch of B/S

the bike is fitted with complet akrapovic titanium system (will be removed as soon as my racefit arrives) and a powercommander

any of u had this problem and did u find a way to fix it other than removing the powercommander and are US bikes fitted with lambda probes like mine coz someone told me that US bikes dont have them ?
Nickzx10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 10:01 AM
MIA Ex-Mod
 
Tread70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,051
Posting Frequency
Images: 1
           
They probably unhooked the servo motor under the seat which is causing the FI light. If they left the servo motor in the just plug it back up. If they took out the servo motor then get it back and plug it back in.

Tread

2004 PBO zx10-r pazzo, seat cowl, yoshi Ti TRS bolt on, PC3, Speedo-Healer, Hyperpro, Braided lines, 16-40, Sato sets, ZG dark screen, and more.
Tread70 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 10:12 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 27
Posting Frequency
Images: 6
  
doubt it the guy who did the dyno job is suppose to be the best in the country
that ofc dont mean he cant make a mistake

imo the problem lies in the lamda probes coz they are removed and like a car if the ecu dont get a signal back from the probes it will set a fault saying that they are not working, that's why im interested to know if some models are running without lamda probes

I work with car ecu malfuntions in my dayjob so i got an idea of what's going on inside those little black boxes but i'll check the servo motor under the seat could be sweat if it just a unplugged connector
Nickzx10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 10:18 AM
WSB Rider
 
oz914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right next to Rt. 301
Posts: 969
Posting Frequency
 
I am going to go with Tread on this one... I just put a full system and PC3 on my 07 and I didn't get the FI light come on..... If he just disconnected the wires to the servo then no light, but if you disconnect the servo it self then you get the FI light.... Just check it out... it will only take a few minutes....

07' Blue ZX-10R Lowered, Fender Eliminator,PC3, TRE, Ivan's custom tune, Frame Sliders, Helibars and Racefit Growler...............
05' ZX-10R SOLD......
oz914 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 11:48 AM
GP Rider
 
ducatiryder89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the garage!!!!!!
Posts: 1,279
Posting Frequency
Images: 21
  
I believe on the Euro models the FI light does flash because they are equiped with O2 or Lambda sensors. I believe Akra makes a lambda simulator that tricks the ecu to thinking everythings ok. I'm not sure but I'm think other Euro members could chime in and give you some more info.
ducatiryder89 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 11:50 AM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 27
Posting Frequency
Images: 6
  
Just pulled the seat off the servo is connected that why i need to know if all bikes are fitted with lamda probes and so are they still connected

if lets say us bikes dont have them then u have np fitting a full system and a pcIII

and some of the later bikes like the 07 had them fitted to pass then emision demands that changes every year then u need to eliminate them or else fitting a pcIII is point less coz they fuel added by the pcIII settings will be picked up by the lambda probes telling the ecu that the engine is running to rich and reduse the amount of full added

mine should be eliminated or disconneted ,if they are just disconneted then that's the reason my fi light is flaching and if i hook them back up then the pcIII and the dyno is wasted mony, may as well take the thinking cap on and find a way to cheat the ecu so it still reads the lamda input like a static 1v signal like most car's uses ok now im just rambling

Last edited by Nickzx10; 04-25-2008 at 11:53 AM.
Nickzx10 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 12:15 PM
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyrum, JawGa
Posts: 3,645
Posting Frequency
       
Accoding to what I have read on Dynojets website, installation of a PC3 on a Eurobike with Lamda probes requires dynojets part to eliminate the lamda probe. Most likely that is why the FI light is flashing if the Servo is still connected. O2 sensor eliminators I belive is what they called.

US bikes don't come with the probes.

They have to disconnect the probes when they hook up PC3 for reason you describe above, then you get flashiling light without the 02 sensor eliminators. Go to DJ website and buy the O2 sensor eliminators, or put a piece of black tape over flashing light and forget about it.

JJ

Last edited by JimmyJam; 04-25-2008 at 12:17 PM.
JimmyJam is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 12:22 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 27
Posting Frequency
Images: 6
  
going with the tape solution for now
Nickzx10 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 01:33 PM
Champion Rider
 
ninja9r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 322
Posting Frequency
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducatiryder89 View Post
I believe on the Euro models the FI light does flash because they are equiped with O2 or Lambda sensors. I believe Akra makes a lambda simulator that tricks the ecu to thinking everythings ok. I'm not sure but I'm think other Euro members could chime in and give you some more info.
I don't think the Euro models come with Lambda sensors, i'm not sure about the 06-07, but i know for sure that my 04 doesn't have one, and the 08 that i expect to be delivered to me on Tuesday doesn't have also.

SPEED KILLS, BUY A HONDA ...

Ride on folks...
ninja9r is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-25-2008, 02:05 PM
GP Rider
 
ducatiryder89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the garage!!!!!!
Posts: 1,279
Posting Frequency
Images: 21
  
06-07 models do come with Lambda sensors I know that for sure. 04-05 do not.
ducatiryder89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help FI light is flashing guzmanx Performance and Tech 21 11-27-2008 10:55 AM
Help FI light started flashing after the rain! Jonathan o The ZX-10R 11 09-21-2007 01:42 PM
FI light is flashing after exhaust install skibumm23 Performance and Tech 15 04-26-2007 08:10 AM
Flashing headlite jstwkd1 The Out House 7 02-23-2006 08:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome