Gen 1: 2004-2005 Electrical HELP, Needed ASAP - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Electrical HELP, Needed ASAP

Hey guy's,
I have an electrical issue going on.
This plug fried on me as you can see.
It's a 2005 Gen 1
What plug is it.

I'm trying to find it on the wiring schematic,
but I'm not sure what it is.
If I can figure out what it is, then I can look at
it on the diagram and re-wire it.

Help is needed ASAP please and thank you.

If you know for sure, please send a quick email
to my phone for quicker response :

[email protected]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical Plug 001.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	147983   Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical Plug 002.jpg
Views:	392
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	147984   Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical Plug 003.jpg
Views:	417
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	147985   Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical Plug 004.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	105.0 KB
ID:	147986  

Last edited by hellsrazor; 05-06-2011 at 05:37 PM.
hellsrazor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Squid
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Posting Frequency
 
That looks like a connector that links all your power and earth connections, thats why you can see the little bridging links, this could of happened due to a bad connection at the connector or excessive current draw on that circuit, you would need to get hold of another connector and terminals and replace wire for wire so you dont get confussed. Hope this helps
ben20 is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 06:22 PM
GP Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,025
Posting Frequency
    
was that thing hanging bare like that? it might have shorted itself out on the frame.
mityaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben20 View Post
That looks like a connector that links all your power and earth connections, thats why you can see the little bridging links, this could of happened due to a bad connection at the connector or excessive current draw on that circuit, you would need to get hold of another connector and terminals and replace wire for wire so you dont get confussed. Hope this helps
Yes, but I tried find it (Connector) on the schematic and cannot locate it.
So, I made my very own wiring diagram of it.

Next, I'm going to try and decipher the blade configuration to the wires
and map that into my schematic that I'm making.

Then see if I can make my own connection box according to my diagram.
I am also going to look for a wiring harness that reasonably priced,
and either splice it onto mine or replace the whole freakin thing.

I have had this problem another time outta this junction box before.
I had pulled the metal blade out and cleaned them and reinserted and all has been fine for a year or so.

Lastly, the only thing I can think of that pulls the most amps is the starter or fuel pump.
No noises or slow cranks, all has been well with it.

Anyone have a clue as to what caused this.
hellsrazor is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by mityaz View Post
was that thing hanging bare like that? it might have shorted itself out on the frame.
No, :headshake absolutely not.
It had the cap over it and was neatly wrapped in electrical tape.
After I cut the harness open from the last time it did this,
and cleaned and re-inserted the blades.
I wrapped it very good and neat.
hellsrazor is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 11:29 PM
GP Star
 
NinjeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,204
Posting Frequency
        
I don't know what it connects to, but tomorrow I will go out and look, but I'm thinking you MAY need a new wiring harness =X
NinjeR is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 05-06-2011, 11:34 PM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjeR View Post
I don't know what it connects to, but tomorrow I will go out and look, but I'm thinking you MAY need a new wiring harness =X
I am in the process of trying to find a bad harness
with that connector on it if possible.

Or if I can find a good harness for a reasonable price,
I'll just replace the whole harness.

Time to start Gen 1 thread shopping.

Who has a good or bad harness for sale ??

In the second picture, you see that #12 white wire that's
fried. I want to try and find out what it goes to.
Because it looks like the culprit of this problem.

I'm scoping the shit outta the schematic for it.
hellsrazor is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 05-07-2011, 12:01 AM
GP Star
 
NinjeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,204
Posting Frequency
        
MAYBE your buffness of your arms overwhelmed the circuitry of the bike and caused it to overload and short out?

That's why we've been telling you to find some sleeves...so stuff like this doesn't happen! =)
NinjeR is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 05-07-2011, 12:08 AM Thread Starter
Servo's Eliminatus ;)
 
hellsrazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Coast of Mississippi
Posts: 6,813
Posting Frequency
Images: 23
           
This may be the connector in question.

Where is this F er on the schematic tho.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Manual Pic.JPG
Views:	377
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	148038  
hellsrazor is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 05-07-2011, 12:22 AM
Street Rider
 
zxer7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 76
Posting Frequency
 
Kawasaki uses those connectors at the factory as a way of testing there wiring harnesses on the assembly line. They cause all sorts of problems after a while. I don't know how many of those things I have had to cut out of wiring harnesses because of corrosion etc. What you will have to do is just cut the connector out and solder all of the like wires together. All of the black yellow are grounds, brown are key on power, white are battery power.

Green ones are faster

'05 ZX10
'05 ZX10 Race Bike
'92 KX 500
zxer7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gen 2 headlight needed asap jonrubiera Wanted: Buy or Trade 5 06-09-2011 09:09 PM
Need Help/Electrical/ASAP!!!!! chogue Performance and Tech 17 09-16-2010 02:23 PM
Bearings needed ASAP Playboy07 Wanted: Buy or Trade 2 09-07-2009 01:08 PM
Needed ASAP: 04/05 10R caliper bolt (2) TR-10 Wanted: Buy or Trade 1 03-14-2008 10:28 AM
Electrical help needed jessie_n_az Performance and Tech 11 10-05-2006 12:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome