DIY Kawasaki Interface cable - Kawasaki ZX-10R.net
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 09-22-2012, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
DIY Kawasaki Interface cable

Hello All,

I've seen many posts asking about how to make the Interface cable for the kawasaki racing ECU, My bike is an 04' zx10, The 5 pins in the the racing harness programming connector are as follows, You'll have to verify your own pins from other years, the kawi racing manuals have the diagrams for the race ECU connection in the back. The Racing ECU comes with the software, FYI...

Yellow 5Volt-TTL
Orange 5 volt- TTL
Red/white stripe-12 volts
2 x Brown/black stripe-ground

You will need:

1.USB to serial port cable
2. Serial to 5 volt TTL converter
3. 4 blade style wire terminals (or make your own pins)

These are the links to the parts I purchased,

Radio shack USB to serial converter,
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3120513

Serialcomm serial to 5v TTL model: TTL-232-5P
http://www.serialcomm.com/serial_rs2...eral_info.aspx

Hook-up to bike,

I used 4 blade termials I purchased from my local ford dealer, but you could always make your own with some wire and solder. It's not as pretty as the ~$500 cable from Kawi or the ~$250 sold by someone on this forum but it works, and cost me $58.

To determine which TTL wire went to "In TTL" and "out TTL" on the TTL adapter I just guessed. It didn't comunicate the first time so I reversed the TTL wires and bingo.

Since i've seen others claim there $250 cable works from 04-10 and on 6Rs', I bet the pins stay the same on the bike harness side, but please verify with a volt meter. Your TTL Pins will have 5 volts when check with a volt meter, 2 will have continuity to ground and the last pin will will have battery voltage.

My hook up to the Serial to TTL converter for an 04' zx10r was

Yellow to--"In TTL"
Orange to--"Out TTL"
Brown/Black stripe--"GND"
Brown/Black stripe --"GND"
Red/white stripe--not used

attached are pictures to help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120922_192345.jpg
Views:	1977
Size:	177.6 KB
ID:	165757   Click image for larger version

Name:	20120922_192318.jpg
Views:	1937
Size:	152.2 KB
ID:	165758   Click image for larger version

Name:	20120922_192657.jpg
Views:	1784
Size:	127.6 KB
ID:	165759  
rpm429 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 09-23-2012, 11:48 AM
WSB Rider
 
Balogiannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 881
Posting Frequency
   
Send a message via MSN to Balogiannis
Nice!
Balogiannis is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 11:50 AM
Gen 5 Now!!
 
08zx10rny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 1,128
Posting Frequency
Images: 4
   
gotta try this. was just about to drop some coin on the cable
08zx10rny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 02:29 PM
WSB Rider
 
Balogiannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 881
Posting Frequency
   
Send a message via MSN to Balogiannis
rpm429 which version of FI tool are you using? Do you have the new one with quickshifter, 700 rpms overrev etc etc?
Balogiannis is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 03:49 PM
GP Rider
 
Johns04ZX10R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 1,035
Posting Frequency
    
Now if I could just figure out how to flash the Gen 1 standard ECU....
Johns04ZX10R is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 09:36 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
no mine is the 04 Kit ECU, I found it at a shop in texas a couple of weeks ago, from what I read the other gen one (05) kit ecu had the overrev and pit lane speed limit, and quickshift, other than that it has the same tunning tables.
rpm429 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
those features are hardware dependant,I have 2 versions of the fi software, the one that came with the ECU and a newer version, and it wont let me flash the 05 ecu file into the 04 ecu, and I can pull up the 04 or 05 file in the later version
rpm429 is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
The flashing pins come to the connector on the stock ECU, but there is no AUD pin, which means you wont be able to get the stock ROM file out of the computer from the connectors, you have to cut the ECU open and hook directly to some of the ECU Chip pins. The processors flash in exactly the same way as the Mitsubishi Cars, except we dont have OBDII ports for easy flashing, you would have to do a bench top flash, There are alot of free opensource flash programs for misubishi cars, subaru, etc.. that would probally work but you would need the stock ROM first, and decode what the diffrent tables mean. All the info is out there for free, just have to have time to piece it together, ZX12's-14s' and hyabusa have had stock ECU flash capabilities for a long time,
rpm429 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 09-27-2012, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Squid
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
Posting Frequency
 
Forgot to mention, you have to set the correct com port in the Kawi FI tool software, it's in one of the settings menus, after software install the selection defaults to com port 1, The usb to serial cable will automaticlly install drivers when you hook it to the laptop, go to the device manager in windows and under ports(com/lpt) see which com port windows assigned to the usb/serial and set the kawi software to match.
rpm429 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 09-28-2012, 03:39 AM
Track Day Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 201
Posting Frequency
 
Peli67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki ZX-10R.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interface Box for all kawasaki racing Ecu! lello_87 Parts, Gear and Accessories 313 08-26-2019 05:19 PM
Gen 4: 2011 zx10r racing ecu interface cable danboy66 Performance and Tech 3 01-16-2012 02:21 PM
Gen 4: 2011 zx10r racing ecu cable interface danboy66 The ZX-10R 0 01-12-2012 08:43 PM
Kit ECU, Harness, Interface Cable, etc. TENN10 Parts, Gear and Accessories 2 10-06-2010 08:34 PM
FS: '04 ZX-10R factory programable race ECU, PC interface cable, supplementary wiring Chuck_V13 Parts, Gear and Accessories 12 10-09-2009 09:44 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome